HomeCricketRohit Sharma, the most successful IPL player with 6 IPL titles

Rohit Sharma, the most successful IPL player with 6 IPL titles

Rohit Sharma- The Successful IPL Player & Captain

Cricket is a religion in India and Indian Premier League is its festival. Since the inaugural edition, IPL has been the household name in every Indian family. It has been going on for 13 years now and there is only one player to win the title most number of times. Any guesses? It’s none other than our very own Hitman Rohit Sharma. Rohit Sharma is considered as the most successful IPL player with 6 IPL titles.

Know the most successful player in IPL history who holds 6 IPL Titles

The Indian international has got 6 titles to his name, most by any player to ever play in IPL. He also holds the record of winning percentage captain with the rate of 60.34% in IPL history.

Rohit Sharma’s IPL Statistics

He’s not only a winning captain but also a high-profile IPL batsman. He has scored 5480 runs in IPL so far with the highest score of 109*. His IPL career strike rate is 130.50 with an average of 31.49. Rohit was one of the most consistent players for the Deccan Chargers both with bat and ball, he was used as a middle-order batsman, he took a famous hat-trick against his present team Mumbai Indians, and finished the match with an amazing bowling figure of 4/6, considered as one of the best bowling spells in the tournament. He played a crucial role in winning the title for Deccan Chargers in 2009. 

Also Read: Top five Players with Most Centuries in IPL history

Mumbai Indians- The most successful team under Rohit Sharma

In 2011, Rohit was bought into Mumbai Indians, where he captained his IPL franchise to 5 titles till now, making him the most successful IPL captain ever. He led Mumbai Indians to their maiden IPL trophy in 2013, MI completed a grand double under his captaincy by winning the Champions League T20 title. However, in 2015, Rohit’s captaincy was put to test when Mumbai lost five matches of their first six games.

Mumbai Indians along with Rohit’s captaincy made a huge turnaround to win the title that year. Rohit Sharma scored a half-century in the final to help MI gain an easy win. He was awarded the Man of the Match in the final. Rohit further expanded his legacy by winning the IPL trophy in 2017 and 2019, both finals being nail-biting last ball thrillers.

Also Read: Top Five Most Expensive Bowling Spells in IPL History

In the year 2020, Hitman again led his team to the final after a successful campaign and won the IPL trophy, making him the player with 6 IPL trophies, most by any. Let’s have a look at his statistics for every title-winning edition:  

Rohit Sharma’s Statistics in IPL winning editions 

Year Runs Strike rate Average Highest Score 50s 100s
2009 362 114.92 27.84 52 1 0
2013 538 131.54 38.42 79* 4 0
2015 482 144.74 34.42 98* 3 0
2017 333 121.97 23.78 67 3 0
2019 405 128.57 28.92 67 2 0
2020 332 127.69 27.66 80 3 0

Also Read: Wanindu Hasaranga Biography, Debut, Hat-trick record, Bowling Style, statistics

Thank you for The SportsLite

Atish Das
Atish Das
A die-hard Manchester United fan who has an interest in Advertising and Photo Editing. I love to travel a lot and see this beautiful world with my own eyes!!!

Read More