HomeCricketIPLIPL match today: PBKS vs CSK match result: Who won the match...

IPL match today: PBKS vs CSK match result: Who won the match between the Punjab Kings and Chennai Super Kings

Shikhar’s power knock and Rabada’s timely wickets helped Punjab Kings register victory against Chennai Super Kings by 11 wickets

IPL match today: PBKS vs CSK match result: Who won the match between the Punjab Kings and Chennai Super Kings

Match Overview

Ist Innings

CSK won the toss and elected to bowl. Punjab openers Mayank Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan gave the team a decent sail through in the power play. Maheesh Theekshana gave CSK their first breakthrough in the sixth over as he dismissed Agarwal for 18. But then, Dhawan and Bhanuka Rajapaksa built their partnership to the next level. Rajapaksa got dismissed in the 18th over, missing a well-deserved half-century for 42. Whereas Dhawan played a scintillating inning of 88 in 59 balls. Liam Livingstone added 19 more runs as Punjab made 187/4 in their 20 overs.

IInd Innings

IPL match today: PBKS vs CSK match result

Rituraj Gaikwad and Robin Uthappa opened CSK’s inning but couldn’t settle in well. Uthappa departed over a top edge in the second over by Sandeep Sharma. Then, Mitchell Santner was dismissed for 9 in the sixth over, and Shivam Dube followed in the next over as he made his way back to the pavilion for 8 taking the inner edge. Well settled Gaikwad was unsettled by Rabada in the 13th over as he walked back making 30 of 27 deliveries. However, Ambati Rayudu played a mind boggling inning of 78 runs in 39 balls hitting 7 fours and 6 sixes. But the in-form Rayudu was sent away in the 18th over when Rabada shattered his stumps. The match went very close at the end with an unbeaten 21 of Ravindra Jadeja and Dhoni coming in but finally PBKS won the match comfortably by 11 runs.

Who won the Man of the Match?

IPL match today: PBKS vs CSK match result

Shikhar Dhawan won the Man of the Match award for his blazing knock of unbeaten 88 runs in 59 balls. He hit 9 fours and 2 sixes.

Playing Squad

Punjab Kings Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal(c), Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(w), Shahrukh Khan, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Vaibhav Arora, Arshdeep Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Odean Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, Benny Howell, Baltej Singh, Writtick Chatterjee, Prerak Mankad, Ishan Porel, Atharva Taide, Prabhsimran Singh, Harpreet Brar, Ansh Patel, Raj Bawa

Chennai Super Kings Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja(c), MS Dhoni(w), Dwaine Pretorius, Dwayne Bravo, Mukesh Choudhary, Maheesh Theekshana, Chris Jordan, Devon Conway, Mitchell Santner, Tushar Deshpande, Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Subhranshu Senapati, Prashant Solanki, KM Asif, Simarjeet Singh, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Matheesha Pathirana, Bhagath Varma

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More