HomeCricketRR All Captains List: How many players have captained Rajasthan Royals in...

RR All Captains List: How many players have captained Rajasthan Royals in IPL History

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is a franchise cricket team led by many famous captains. Know all about them.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is a franchise cricket team based in Jaipur, Rajasthan. The team was founded in 2008, along with the other initial 8 IPL franchises. They won the inaugural edition of the IPL under the captaincy of Shane Warne, despite being written off as a title contender by the media and fans. The team, however, was later involved in the betting scandal in 2013. The High Court banned the franchise for two seasons(2016 & 2017), but they returned to play soon after. Read all about the All Captains List of the team RR.

List of RR Captains

1. Shane Warne (2008-11)

RR All Captains List Shane Warne was the first captain of RR

Captaincy was an important chapter of Warne’s life, as he was denied this while playing for Australia. The Rajasthan Royals looked like a hugely vulnerable team packed with inexperienced youngsters and were labelled as weak by the media. However, Warne was brilliant with the ball, even more with strategy and man-management, and the underdogs pulled off an incredible win in the inaugural season. Shane led the side in the first four IPL seasons in 56 matches with a winning percentage of 56.25.

2. Shane Watson (2008-15)

Watson, in the initial years, was the vice-captain and the stand-in skipper for the Royals. He was a robust anchor for the team as he frequently contributed with bat and ball. He played under the captaincy of Warne, Steve Smith and Dravid and went on to captain the side for 21 matches, winning just 7 of them and losing 11.

Also Read: Rajasthan Royals (RR) Sponsors List 2022: Principal, Official, Associate, Media Partners and More

3. Rahul Dravid (2012-13)

RR All Captains List

‘The Wall’, also known as Rahul Dravid, was brought in by the franchise in 2012 auctions to lead the side as Warne retired from cricket in 2011. Rahul led the side for 2 seasons, and he led the team to the playoffs in 2013, where the team lost the semifinal. Under Dravid, the Royals played 40 matches, winning 23 of them.

4. Steve Smith (2014-15 & 2018-20)

Smith led the team for the longest period of 4 seasons. He took the team to the playoffs in 2015. The Royals lost the eliminator and stood fourth on the points table. Steve captained the team for 44 matches, winning 28 of them.

5. Ajinkya Rahane (2018-19)

Rahane was appointed captain in 2018 when Steve Smith got banned due to the ball-tampering controversy. The Royals managed to secure the fourth position in the 2018 season. In 2019 Steve Smith made a comeback to the IPL. Ajinkya Rahane retained his captaincy at the start of the season. However, Steve Smith replaced Ajinkya as captain of the Rajasthan Royals after a string of poor results. Rahane led the team in 24 matches, winning just 9 of them.

Also Read: Rajasthan Royals – History, Players, Records and All you need to Know

6. Sanju Samson (2021-23)

RR All Captains List Sanju Samson will lead the team in 2022

Releasing Steve Smith in the 2021 auction, RR named the young player Sanju Samson to lead the team. But the new skipper was unable to change the fate of the team as they stood at seventh position out of 8 teams in 2021. Samson led the team in 14 matches, winning just 5 of them. For the 2024 season, the Royals have put their faith in Samson as he’s set to lead the team again, hopefully toward a more positive outcome.

RR All Captains List

Serial NumberPlayerSpanMatchesWonLostWinning %
1.Shane Warne2008-1156312456.2
2.Shane Watson2008-152171140.0
3.Rahul Dravid2012-1340231757.5
4.Steve Smith2014-2044281663.5
5.Ajinkya Rahane2018-192491537.5
6.Sanju Samson2021-2331151648.3

Also Read: IPL 2024: List of All Players Retained and Released by Rajasthan Royals

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More