HomeCricketSRH All Captains List: How many players have captained Sunrisers Hyderabad in...

SRH All Captains List: How many players have captained Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL History

The SRH team has a had a variety of international as well as Indian captains in the past. Find out about all 9 of them.

The 2016 champions of IPL were founded when Deccan Chargers were terminated. The team made their first IPL appearance in 2013, where they reached the playoffs, eventually finishing in fourth place. The Sunrisers Hyderabad won their maiden IPL title in the 2016 season, defeating the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. The team has been the most consistent team to qualify for the play-off stage of the tournament. Since 2016 they have played in every playoff. However, they finished last in the 2021 season. Let’s take a look at SRH All Captains List under whom the orange army did wonders.

List Of SRH Captains

1. Kumar Sangakkara (2013-13)

SRH All Captains List Sangakkara was the first Captain of SRH

The former Srilankan skipper, Kumar Sangakkara, was the first captain of the franchise. But he only led the team in the first 9 matches, winning 4 of them.

2. Cameron White (2013-13)

After Sangakkara left for national duty, White was appointed the stand-in skipper. He led the team to the playoffs but lost the eliminator. Under Cameron, White SRH played 8 matches, winning 5 of them.

3. Shikhar Dhawan (2014-14)

SRH All Captains List Dhawan led the side in 16 matches

In the 2014 edition, Shikhar Dhawan and Darren Sammy were named as captain and vice-captain, respectively. Dhawan led the team in 16 matches, winning 7 of them. Dhawan is also among the few players to have played every IPL.

4. Darren Sammy (2014-14)

SRH has the record for the most number of captains in IPL history. Team management is known to develop instant distrust in their captains. Sammy was brought into the role of captain mid-season for four matches, where SRH won 2 matches.

Also Read: Sunrisers Hyderabad – History, Players, Records and All you need to Know

5. David Warner (2015-17 & 2020-21)

SRH All Captains List Warner captained SRH for 67 games

The Veteran Australian opener was bought in 2015 auctions by SRH. Under Warner, the team achieved new heights and consistently qualified for playoffs. Warner won the orange cap in 2015, and the team nearly missed the playoff. SRH won the IPL title in 2016 and qualified three times for the playoffs. They were runners-up in the 2018 edition. Warner led the team in 67 matches, winning 35 of them.

6. Kane Williamson (2018-2021 & 2022-2023)

SRH All Captains List Williamson will lead the side in 2022

David Warner got banned for IPL 2018 due to the Ball Tampering case. So the New Zealand skipper helmed the role of leading the side. After Warner’s comeback in 2019 and leading the team again in 2020. In 2021, following the team’s poor start to the season with one win from 7 games, SRH announced Kane Williamson as their captain for the remainder of the season, replacing David Warner. He led the team in 33 matches, winning 16 of them.

Check Out: Sunrisers Hyderabad Sponsors List 2024: SRH Sponsors, Principal, Official, Title, Merchandise and more

7. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2019-19)

During the 2019 IPL edition, Kane Williamson got injured. So the Vice-captain of SRH took the role of leading the side in 6 matches, winning just 2 of them.

8. Manish Pandey (2021-21)

SRH All Captains List Manish Pandey captained for one match

In the 2021 edition, Both Captain Kane Williamson and Vice-captain Bhuvneshwar Kumar were unavailable for the fixture. So Manish Pandey was roped in for the role for a solitary match which he lost to Mumbai Indians.

9. Aiden Markram (2023-Present)

Aiden Markram is a South African cricketer who was recently named as the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team for the IPL. Much is expected from the player, as the 2024 season has just begun.

SRH All Captains List

Serial NumberNameSpanMatchesWonLostWinning %
1.Kumar Sangakkara2013-1394450.0
2.Cameron White2013-1385362.5
3.Shikhar Dhawan2013-14167943.7
4.Darren Sammy2014-1442250.0
5.David Warner2015-2167353053.7
6.Kane Williamson2018-2133161650
7.Bhuvneshwar Kumar2019-1962433.3
8.Manish Pandey2021-211010
9.Aiden Markram2023-Present

Also Read: IPL 2024 Mini-Auction: Top 5 Players On the Radar of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More