HomeCricketPBKS All Captains List: How many players have captained Punjab Kings in...

PBKS All Captains List: How many players have captained Punjab Kings in IPL History?

The PBKS team has had various captains in the past. Take a look at this extensive list.

Punjab Kings are amongst the most popular T20 franchises in the globe. However, it is one of the three teams that are yet to lift its first IPL title despite participating in every season. Formerly knowns as the Kings XI Punjab, the franchise rebranded itself to Punjab Kings ahead of IPL 2021. The PBKS franchise has had the most number of captains since the inception of IPL. But only a few captains have managed to gain remarkable success. Let’s take a look at all the captains who have led the PBKS team in the history of IPL.

1. Yuvraj Singh


One of India’s greatest limited-overs all-rounders, Yuvraj Singh, led the Kings XI Punjab in the inaugural edition of the IPL. Despite a slow start, the team made it through to the semifinals and Australian batter Shaun Marsh emerged as a terrific match-winner for them with the bat. In IPL 2009, KXIP narrowly missed a berth in the knockouts after a roller-coaster campaign. Yuvraj Singh led the side to 17 wins in 29 games, with an impressive win percentage of 58.62%.

2. Kumar Sangakkara


The charismatic Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakarra took over the leadership of KXIP in IPL 2010. However, the franchise had a disastrous outing as they languished at the bottom of the point table. Sangakarra led KXIP in 13 matches overall, but the team won only on 3 occasions.

3. Mahela Jayawardene

Mahela Jayawardene

Another major figure in Sri Lankan cricket, Mahela Jayawardene, was Sangakkara’s deputy and led the team only once in IPL 2010. KXIP, however, lost that match. Also Read: Top 5 Oldest Players To Score A IPL Century

4. Adam Gilchrist


As a result of a disappointing campaign in 2010, the team management roped in Australian wicket-keeper batter Adam Gilchrist as their skipper. The Aussie master went on to be the longest-serving captain of the franchise, leading them in 3 IPL editions. KXIP finished 5th in IPL 2011 and 6th in IPL 2012, and IPL 2013. Under Gilchrist, the team won 17 games in 34 matches at a win percentage of 50%.

5. David Hussey


In the absence of regular captain Gilchrist, Aussie all-rounder David Hussey stepped in the boots of the KXIP skipper. He led the side in 12 games, in which the team won on 6 occasions.

6. George Bailey


George Bailey is, beyond doubt, one of the most underrated captains of his generation. In 2014, Bailey and his troops looked invincible in the UAE leg of the tournament. Glenn Maxwell-David Miller went all guns blazing, and KXIP was touted to be the strongest contenders for the title that season. Bailey led the team in IPL 2015 as well, but the magic of the last season went missing. The franchise finished at the bottom of the team standings with only 3 wins in 14 matches.

7. Virender Sehwag

Sehwag PBKS All Captains

India’s first-ever T20I captain, Virender Sehwag, had led the Kings XI Punjab only once in the IPL when regular skipper Bailey was unavailable. Interestingly, that match ended in a tie, and KXIP henceforth won the game in a super over. Also Read: DC All Captains List: How many players have captained Delhi Capitals in IPL History

8. David Miller

Miller PBKS All Captains

The Proteas power-hitter used to be one of the biggest superstars of the franchise and remains the third-highest run-getter for them. He was promoted to captaincy ahead of IPL 2016, but under him, the team fared poorly. In 6 games, KXIP won only 1 match. Miller struggled both with the bat and as a captain and therefore was replaced mid-season.

9. Murali Vijay

Murali Vijay PBKS All Captains

The miserable start in IPL 2016 forced the team management to change the guard. Opener Murali Vijay donned the hat of captaincy for the remainder of the season. However, the Tamil Nadu cricketer could only bring a few changes to the team, and KXIP won 3 games out of 8 and once again ended their campaign at the bottom of the points table.

10. Glenn Maxwell

Maxwell PBKS All Captains

The franchise’s star player, Glenn Maxwell, took over the reins of the struggling team in IPL 2017. The Big Show handled the burden of leadership reasonably well compared to his predecessors. KXIP, however, finished 5th in the league. Captain Maxwell ended the season with a win percentage of 50% with 7 victories in 14 clashes. Also Read: Shaquille Leonard Net Worth 2024, Endorsements, Cars, Houses, Properties, Charities, Etc.

11. Ravichandran Ashwin

Ashwin PBKS All Captains

In the mega auctions of 2018, KXIP signed India’s modern-day spin king Ravichandran Ashwin as the leader of the pack. Ashwin captained KXIP in 2018 and 2019, and in both seasons, quite a similar tale followed. The team began on a promising note, but their mid-season blunders cost them badly. In 28 games, Ashwin led the franchise to 12 wins with a win percentage close to 43%.

12. KL Rahul

KL Rahul PBKS All Captains

Swashbuckling opener K L Rahul succeeded Ashwin to be the 12th addition to the list of PBKS captains in 2020. The cricketer was a prolific run-scorer but he failed to replicate his individual success as a captain. He led the side in 2 seasons and in both editions, the team finished 6th in the league standings.

13. Mayank Agarwal

Agarwal PBKS All Captains

Agarwal led the Punjab Kings only once so far, and that match ended in a defeat for them. After the franchise released K L Rahul ahead of IPL 2022, Mayank Agarwal has now been officially promoted to be the PBKS captain for the next season. The franchise will hope that under Agarwal, their wait for the coveted title finally comes to an end.

14. Shikhar Dhawan

For the 2024 IPL season, Agarwal has been replaced, and Shikhar Dhawan has been handed the captaincy role. The batsman has also been the occasional captain of the Indian national cricket team. Dhawan’s name has now been added to the long list of PBKS Captains.

In A Nutshell: PBKS All Captains List

PlayerMatchesWonLostTiedNo ResultWin%
Yuvraj Singh2917120058.62
Kumar Sangakkara13030901026.92
Mahela Jayawardene01001000.00
Adam Gilchrist3417170050.00
David Hussey1206060050.00
George Bailey3014160046.66
Virender Sehwag010001050.00
David Miller0601050016.66
Murali Vijay0803050037.50
Glenn Maxwell1407070050.00
Ravichandran Ashwin2812160042.85
K L Rahul27111402044.44
Mayank Agarwal14770050.00
Shikhar Dhawan2110050.00

Also Read: CSK All Captains List: How many players have captained Chennai Super Kings in IPL History

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Aditya Datta
Aditya Dattahttps://thesportslite.com/
Hi there! this is Aditya Datta, a huge cricket buff, and a passionate content writer.

Read More