Thursday, November 30, 2023
HomeCricketTop 10 Players with Most IPL Matches as a Captain

Top 10 Players with Most IPL Matches as a Captain

Rohit Sharma is the only title-winning captain in IPL 2022

Let’s look at the top 10 most IPL matches as a captain. Captaincy in any form of cricket is a hard job. It gets even harder in the IPL. Tight schedule, high-pressure games, and constant traveling from one place to another. It really takes a lot of you, not only as a player but also as a person. Despite the hardship, the following are the players who have played the most number of matches as captain of the IPL team.

List of players with most IPL matches as a captain

10. Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid sits at number 10 in the list of most IPL matches as a captain. From 2008 to 2013, he had captained Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore. This test specialist has won 22 matches out of 48 which counts for a winning percentage of 45.83.

9. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar was the captain of Mumbai Indians from 2008 to 2011. The master blaster didn’t have a great time while captaining India. But in the colors of Mumbai Indians, he showed a winning percentage of 58.82. He captained 51 games and won 30 of them.

8. Virendra Sehwag

Virendra Sehwag did play as a captain for two teams. One is Delhi Daredevils and the other is Kings XI Punjab. This smasher won 28 games out of 53 as a captain for his side. The winning percentage of 53.77 is quite a good indicator when it comes to his captaincy skill. He occupies 8th position in the list of players with the most number of matches as a captain.

7. Shane Warne

Shane Warne features at number 7 amongst the players who have captained IPL teams for the highest number of games. This legendary leggie from Australia led Rajasthan Royals to win the inaugural season of IPL. He wore the captain’s crown for 55 games and had been on the right side of the result 30 times.

6. David Warner

David Warner, after his captaincy stint at SRH, turned into one of the legendary IPL captains. He was the skipper of the side when SRH won their first IPL title in 2016. Overall. he played as a captain of SRH for 69 games, winning 35 of them at a winning percentage of 52.17. Unfortunately, his time at SRH did end in a bleak way.

5. Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist, the wicket-keeper batter from Australia positions himself at number 5 in the list of the players with the most number of matches played as captain. Gilli captained Deccan Chargers and Kings XI Punjab. Deccan won the IPL title in 2009 and Adam was at the helm of Deccan. In 74 IPL games, Gilli as captain managed to win 35 games at a winning percentage of 47.29.

4. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is regarded as the most successful IPL captain. He led Mumbai Indians to a total of 5 IPL titles which is the most for any team. Many experts considered the side under Rohit’s wings as the best T20 side in the entire cricketing world. In 129 games as a skipper of MI, Rohit, and co. finished on the winning side for 71 occasions which takes the winning percentage to 59.68.

3. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir initially was the captain of Delhi Daredevils. Then he moved to KKR and there also he got the privilege to be the skipper of the team. KKR, to date, has won 2 IPL titles and all of them have been under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. GG was captain of the IPL side for 129 games, which include 71 wins and sits at number 3 in the list of players with the most number of IPL games as captain.

2. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has been an integral part of RCB since 2008, but he became captain of the side in 2011. Despite having legends of cricket around him, enigmatically he never won the IPL title. In 140 IPL games as a leader of RCB, he has won 64 games. At the end of the 2021 season, he declared he won’t be the captain of RCB anymore and will play only as a player.

1. MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni is at the number 1 position in the list of players who have captained the IPL side for the most number of games. It is not at all a surprise to anyone. MS has been the captain of CSK right from the inaugural season and he will be the captain of the side in the 2022 season as well. In 14 years of captaincy, MSD has won 121 games out of 204. Well, not to mention CSK has won the IPL 4 times under him.  

Most IPL matches as a captain (Consolidated Table Version) 

MS Dhoni2041218259.60
V Kohli140646948.16
G Gambhir129715755.42
RG Sharma129755059.68
AC Gilchrist74353947.29
DA Warner69353252.17
SK Warne55302455.45
V Sehwag53282453.77
SR Tendulkar51302158.82
R Dravid48222645.83

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Saurabh Karmarkar
Saurabh Karmarkar
An ardent Test cricket fan, a loyal Bayern Munich supporter who loves to write about sports and a fitness enthusiast.

Read More