Friday, December 1, 2023
HomeCricketOrange Cap winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

Orange Cap winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

David Warner won the orange cap 3 times

Let’s look at the list of Orange Cap winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021. Orange Cap is given to that player who scores the maximum number of runs in a single season of IPL. Players get no time to rest plus the continuous traveling and all the hustle makes it even tougher for them. So carrying the batting form throughout the season is really a tough task. 

List of Orange Cap winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

2008:- Shaun Marsh

Shaun Marsh, the King’s XI Punjab player, with his magnificent shots, attracted all the attention. He was off the blocks quickly and while doing so; he scored 616 runs in the inaugural season of IPL in 2008. Shaun also registered a century. He had an incredible average of 68.44. Shaun Marsh is the first winner of the List of Orange Cap winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021.

2009: – Matthew Hayden

Matthew Hayden was part of the Chennai Super Kings. Though he was at the later part of his career, he smashed the ball with no lesser power. He possessed a tremendous amount of power in those big shoulders, and he unleashed that power on every opponent. Haydos averaged 52 in 12 innings, scoring 572 runs with 5 fifties.

2010:- Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar, the Mumbaikar, played for Mumbai Indians till his retirement. In 2010, he smashed 618 runs at 47.53 in 15 innings. It was heartening to see Sachin playing the same brand of cricket in the T20s along with Tests and ODIs. He won the Orange Cap for season 2010. 

2011:- Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle, the Gayle storm, really stormed the IPL by winning Orange Cap in the 2011 season. Though his shots were gigantic, he did it effortlessly. In 12 innings for RCB in 2011, the Universe Boss collected 608 runs at 67.55. Gayle also had 2 centuries in the same season along with 3 half-centuries.

2012:- Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle became the first man to win the Orange Cap on consecutive occasions, as he grabbed it again in 2012. The hitting, the style, and the ease, everything remained the same just as in 2011. However, with the almost same amount of effort, he scored some extra runs; 733 runs at an average of 61.08. 7 quick-fire fifties and a ton bolstered these runs. 

2013:- Micheal Hussy 

Micheal Hussy, another Australian left-hander, carved his name on Orange Cap in 2013. Hussy followed the suit of Hayden as ‘Huss’ was also playing for CSK and that, too, was an opener. If Haydos was all about power, Hussy was about elegance. With the left-hand batter’s typical elegance, Hussy clubbed 733 runs at 52.35, which includes the highest score of 95.

2014:- Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa, the ICC T20 World Cup winner, grabbed the Orange Cap in 2014 by scoring 660 runs at an average of 44. His brilliance with the bat helped KKR to win their 2nd IPL title. Stylish, elegant, graceful call what you want to call, but no one can describe the beautiful shots from Robin. You just need to admire them. 

2015:- David Warner

David Warner played some good cricket for Delhi Daredevils and, hence, SRH picked him in 2015. He quickly paid off by winning the Orange Cap in 2015. With this, he joins an elite group of left-handed opening batters who have won this award in the previous years. In 14 games, he scored 562 runs at an average of 43.23 and had a strike rate of 156.54.

Also read: Virat Kohli Vs Babar Azam – A Look Into T20 Cricket’s Biggest Rivalry

2016:- Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli broke many records during his record-setting season for RCB in 2016. This bloke scored a mountain of runs. He just kept staking the runs and at the end of the season, after 16 innings, the tally showed 973 runs at an average of 81.08. Well, the man had no centuries in any T20 game before this, but in this season he took that number to 4. It is unbelievable to just see the figure of 973, but it is what it is. 

2017:- David Warner

David Warner once again features in the list of Orange Cap winners. In the season of 2017, Warmer scored 641 runs at 58.27 with 4 fifties and one century. SRH won their maiden IPL title in 2016 under David Warner and after 2017, he started his journey to become an IPL great.

2018:- Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson is a very interesting, though not necessarily a surprising name on this list. Kane plays no glamorous shots. He believes in traditional cricket. He showed the entire world, to be a successful T20 batter, you don’t need to have power, and all you need to have is a good head on shoulders and calmness of the mind. This Kiwi batter accumulated 735 runs at 52.50, which includes 8 half-centuries. 

Also Read: Who Is Aaron Finch Wife? Know All About Amy Griffiths.

2019:- David Warner

It’s incredible to see David once again occupying the top position in the race of Orange Cap. David was this time accompanied by Jonny Bairstow as an opener and both formed a destructive opening pair. Warner scored 692 runs at 69.2 which includes 8 half-centuries and 1 century. 

2020:- KL Rahul

KL Rahul had a terrific season of 2020. He was the captain of Punjab Kings and having that pressure, he could have faltered a bit, especially since his side kept stumbling repeatedly. But he showed his mettle and scored 670 runs AT 55.83 Rahul scored 5 fifties and 1 ton. 

2021:- Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad is one of the sensational cricketers of this generation. He is calm, keeps his head down, and makes the bat do all the talking. He was a vital cog in CSK’s title-winning season as he produced 635 runs at 45.35. This includes an unbeaten century and 4 half-centuries. CSK has kept him for the IPL 2022. 

Orange Cap winners (Consolidated Table Version) 

YearWinners (Player)RunsAverageStrike Rate
2008Shaun Marsh (PBKS)61668.44139.68
2009Matthew Hayden (CSK)57252144.81
2010Sachin Tendulkar (MI)61847.53132.61
2011Chris Gayle (RCB)60867.55183.13
2012Chris Gayle (RCB)73361.08160.74
2013Michael Hussey (CSK)73352.35129.5
2014Robin Uthappa (KKR)66044137.78
2015David Warner (SRH)56243.23156.54
2016Virat Kohli (RCB)97381.08152.03
2017David Warner (SRH)64158.27141.81
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)73552.5142.44
2019David Warner (SRH)69269.2143.87
2020KL Rahul (PBKS)67055.83129.34
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)63545.35136.26

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Saurabh Karmarkar
Saurabh Karmarkar
An ardent Test cricket fan, a loyal Bayern Munich supporter who loves to write about sports and a fitness enthusiast.

Read More