HomeCricketIPL match today MI vs LSG match result IPL 2022: Who won...

IPL match today MI vs LSG match result IPL 2022: Who won Mumbai Indians vs Lucknow Supergiants Match?

LSG skipper playing a Captain’s knock walled a huge total for the Mumbai Indians. Rahul made an unbeaten 103 in just 60 balls hitting 9 boundaries and 5 massive sixes as LSG made 199. With wickets falling at crucial moments Mumbai couldn’t keep up with the run chase as they fell short of 18 runs. Incidentally, this was KL Rahul’s 100th appearance in the IPL.

IPL match today MI vs LSG match result IPL 2022: Who won Mumbai Indians vs Lucknow Supergiants Match?

Match Overview

Ist Inning

KL Rahul hits a century in his 100th IPL match, smashes some significant records

IPL match today MI vs LSG match result IPL 2022

During his knock, the LSG skipper accelerated after hitting a half-century off just 33 balls. He took only 23 balls to smash the 3 digit mark becoming only the second player to score multiple hundreds as captain in IPL after Virat Kohli. Kohli scored five tons during his captaincy tenure of RCB in 2016 hitting 4 in that season. Rahul also became the fourth player to score two hundred against a single opponent in IPL. Others who hit multiple hundreds were Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, David Warner and now KL Rahul. The 29-year-old Karnataka batter now holds the record of the highest individual score on his 100th IPL game. With an unbeaten 103, Rahul surpassed Faf du Plessis’ tally of 86.

Mumbai’s Jaydev Unadkat grabbed 2 wickets with Murugan Ashwin and Fabian Allen taking one each but failed to stop LSG’s firings. LSG set a target of 200 runs for MI. Rahul was supported by his subordinate Manish Pandey who helped him rotate the strike keeping away the pressure.

Also Read: 5 Most shameful & embarrassing records hold by MS Dhoni

IInd Inning

With a doubleton to chase Mumbai was in a rush, which cost them ultimately. With openers Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma going for 13 and 6 respectively. Young gun Dewald Brevis played a fiery knock of 31 in just 13 balls until Avesh Khan sent him home on a full toss. Vintage Surya came to Mumbai’s rescue along with Tilak Varma making over 50 run partnership. LSG’s Jason Holder managed to get the breakthrough by dismissing Varma for 26 in the 14th over. Mumbai’s hope crashed as Ravi Bishnoi dismissed Surya for 37 over a short ball in the 16th over. The required run rate for Mumbai mounted to over 21 at the end of 18 overs. Mumbai fell short of 18 runs at the end.

Playing Squad

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): KL Rahul(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Jason Holder, Krunal Pandya, Dushmantha Chameera, Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Fabian Allen, Jaydev Unadkat, Murugan Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Tymal Mills

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More