Friday, December 1, 2023
HomeTennisATP Finals Winners: Know every player who has won the ATP Finals

ATP Finals Winners: Know every player who has won the ATP Finals

The ATP Tour Championship, famously called the ATP Finals, is one of the most challenging tours in men’s tennis. It takes place annually and often during the year-end. The top eight singles players and top eight doubles teams, as determined by the ATP rankings, qualify for the finals and fight for the championship. Last year, it was Novak Djokovic who won the singles finals, whereas, in the doubles, Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury won the doubles finals. So let’s take a look at every ATP Finals winners.

ATP Finals Winners

From 1970 to 1980

Year Champions Runner-up
1970 Stan Smith Rod Laver
1971 Ilie Năstase Stan Smith
1972 Ilie Năstase Stan Smith
1973 Ilie Năstase Tom Okker
1974 Guillermo Vilas Ilie Năstase
1975 Ilie Năstase Björn Borg
1976 Manuel Orantes Wojtek Fibak
1977 Jimmy Connors Björn Borg
1978 John McEnroe Arthur Ashe
1979 Björn Borg Vitas Gerulaitis
1980 Björn Borg Ivan Lendl

In case you missed: WTA Finals Winners: Know every player who has won the WTA Finals

From 1981 to 1890

Year Champions Runner-up
1981 Ivan Lendl Vitas Gerulaitis
1982 Ivan Lendl John McEnroe
1983 John McEnroe Ivan Lendl
1984 John McEnroe Ivan Lendl
1985 Ivan Lendl Boris Becker
1986 Ivan Lendl Boris Becker
1987 Ivan Lendl Mats Wilander
1988 Boris Becker Ivan Lendl
1989 Stefan Edberg Boris Becker
1990 Andre Agassi Stefan Edberg

Also Read: Daniil Medvedev creates his perfect tennis player and chooses himself for the celebration

From 1991 to 2000

Year Champions Runner-up
1991 Pete Sampras Jim Courier
1992 Boris Becker Jim Courier
1993 Michael Stich Pete Sampras
1994 Pete Sampras Boris Becker
1995 Boris Becker Michael Chang
1996 Pete Sampras Boris Becker
1997 Pete Sampras Yevgeny Kafelnikov
1998 Àlex Corretja Carlos Moyá
1999 Pete Sampras Andre Agassi
2000 Gustavo Kuerten Andre Agassi

Read More: Rafael Nadal will return to the tennis court again

From 2001 to 2010

Year Champions Runner-up
2001 Lleyton Hewitt Sébastien Grosjean
2002 Lleyton Hewitt Juan Carlos Ferrero
2003 Roger Federer Andre Agassi
2004 Roger Federer Lleyton Hewitt
2005 David Nalbandian Roger Federer
2006 Roger Federer James Blake
2007 Roger Federer David Ferrer
2008 Novak Djokovic Nikolay Davydenko
2009 Nikolay Davydenko Juan Martín del Potro
2010 Roger Federer Rafael Nadal

Also Read: Who is the Tennis G.O.A.T? Most Grand Slams in History

From 2011 to 2022

Year Champions Runner-up
2011 Roger Federer Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
2012 Novak Djokovic Roger Federer
2013 Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal
2014 Novak Djokovic Roger Federer
2015 Novak Djokovic Roger Federer
2016 Andy Murray Novak Djokovic
2017 Grigor Dimitrov David Goffin
2018 Alexander Zverev Novak Djokovic
2019 Stefanos Tsitsipas Dominic Thiem
2020 Daniil Medvedev Dominic Thiem
2021 Alexander Zverev Daniil Medvedev
2022 Novak Djokovic Casper Ruud

Guess who will win the 2023 ATP Finals

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopes
Hello Everyone, I am Nikhil Lopes, working as the Content Editor for The Sportslite. I am a Sports Addict and love to watch & Write about them.

Read More