HomeListiclesWTA Finals Winners: Know every player who has won the WTA Finals

WTA Finals Winners: Know every player who has won the WTA Finals

The WTA Tour Championship, famously called the WTA Finals, is one of the most challenging tours in women’s tennis. It takes place annually and often during the year-end. The top eight singles players and top eight doubles teams, as determined by the WTA rankings, qualify for the finals and fight for the championship. Last year, it was Caroline Garcia who won the singles finals, whereas in the doubles, Veronika Kudermetova and Elise Mertens won the doubles finals. So let’s take a look at every WTA Finals winners.

WTA Finals Winners

From 1972 to 1980

Year Champion Runner-up
1972 Chris Evert Kerry Melville
1973 Chris Evert Nancy Richey Gunter
1974 Evonne Goolagong Chris Evert
1975 Chris Evert Martina Navratilova
1976 Evonne Goolagong Cawley Chris Evert
1977 Chris Evert Sue Barker
1978 Martina Navratilova Evonne Goolagong Cawley
1979 Martina Navratilov Tracy Austin
1980 Tracy Austin Martina Navratilova

In case you missed: WTA Finals 2024: Know every player who has qualified for the Finals

From 1981 to 1990

Year Champion Runner-up
1981 Martina Navratilova Andrea Jaeger
1982 Sylvia Hanika Martina Navratilova
1983 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert
1982 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert
1985 Martina Navratilova Helena Sukova
1986 Martina Navratilova Hana Mandlikova
1986 Martina Navratilova Steffi Graf
1987 Steffi Graf Gabriela Sabatini
1988 Gabriela Sabatini Pam Shriver
1989 Steffi Graf Martina Navratilova
1990 Monica Seles Gabriela Sabatini

(The WTA finals championship was held two times in 1986)

From 1991 to 2000

Year Champion Runner-up
1991 Monica Seles Martina Navratilova
1992 Monica Seles Martina Navratilova
1993 Steffi Graf Arantxa Sanchez Vicario
1994 Gabriela Sabatini Lindsay Davenport
1995 Steffi Graf Anke Huber
1996 Steffi Graf Martina Hingis
1997 Jana Novotna Mary Pierce
1998 Martina Hingis Lindsay Davenport
1999 Lindsay Davenport Martina Hingis
2000 Martina Hingis Monica Seles

Also Read: Aryna Sabalenka becomes the 29th woman in tennis history to lift the Chris Evert Trophy

From 2001 to 2010

Year Champion Runner-up
2001 Serena Williams Lindsay Davenport
2002 Kim Clijsters Serena Williams
2003 Kim Clijsters Amelie Mauresmo
2004 Maria Sharapova Serena Williams
2005 Amelie Mauresmo Mary Pierce
2006 Justine Henin Amelie Mauresmo
2007 Justine Henin Maria Sharapova
2008 Venus Williams Vera Zvonareva
2009 Serena Williams Venus Williams
2010 Kim Clijsters Caroline Wozniacki

Read More: Who is the Tennis G.O.A.T? Most Grand Slams in History

From 2011 to 2022

Year Champion Runner-up
2011 Petra Kvitova Victoria Azarenka
2012 Serena William Maria Sharapova
2013 Serena Williams Li Na
2014 Serena Williams Simona Halep
2015 Agnieszka Radwanska Petra Kvitova
2016 Dominika Cibulkova Angelique Kerber
2017 Caroline Wozniacki Venus Williams
2018 Elina Svitolina Sloane Stephens
2019 Ashleigh Barty Elina Svitolina
2020 No contest took place due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2021 Garbiñe Muguruza Anett Kontaveit
2022 Caroline Garcia Aryna Sabalenka

Guess who will win the 2024 WTA Finals.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopeshttp://thesportslite.com
Hello everyone! Meet Nikhil Lopes. He is funny because, in a world where people consume alcohol and various substances, Nikhil chooses sports and fitness. He also gets high on sports, and to be normal, he pens down words into articles. As a result, he has many articles next to his name. I hope you enjoy his writing. Stay safe. Be addicted to sports like Nikhil.

Read More