HomeCricketIndian Team Captain 2022 Full List

Indian Team Captain 2022 Full List

The Indian Cricket team has seen quite a few changes in the leadership role across the different formats in 2022. With many players giving top-notch performances it’s getting more and more difficult for the BCCI in choosing and dropping players from the squad. So the BCCI has come up with a solution for tackling this problem. It is now resting the core team players when playing against Associate or moderate Nations. Along with this BCCI has further dissected T20I and ODI Teams. So let’s have a look at the Full List of Indian Team Captain in 2022:

1. Virat Kohli

While Kohli continued as the Test skipper until the team’s last Test against South Africa in January. The whole build-up began before the 2021 T20 World Cup which was conducted in the UAE. Virat Kohli, after yet another disappointing season as skipper of the IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), decided to not only step down as captain of the franchise but also as the skipper of team India in the T20 format. This sudden step down was so abrupt for the BCCI that Kohli was stripped from ODI as well as Test captaincy. The baton was now handed over to Rohit Sharma across all formats.

2. KL Rahul

KL Rahul took over the ODI captaincy in the absence of Rohit Sharma that followed the South Africa Test series, with the latter ruled out due to injury.

3. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma currently is the full-time Skipper for India for all three formats. He was given the captaincy in January this year.

Also Read: KL Rahul full name- What is the story behind his name?

4. Rishabh Pant

For the 5 matches T20I series of South Africa’s tour of India in June, Rishabh Pant was given the opportunity to lead the side. With the last match being abandoned due to rain India drew the series 2-2.

5. Hardik Pandya

For the 2-match T20I series of India’s Tour of Ireland in July, Hardik Pandya was announced as the Captain. India won the series 2-0.

6. Jasprit Bumrah

With Rohit Sharma testing positive for Covid19 just before the rescheduled 5th Test against England pacer Jasprit Bumrah was announced as the Captain of the side. However, England won this Test match.

Check Out: 5 Major records broken during India vs England 5th Test

7. Shikhar Dhawan

The BCCI selection committee has named a 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against West Indies starting in later this month. Shikhar Dhawan will lead the squad with all rounder Ravindra Jadeja named as his deputy.

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More