Saturday, October 1, 2022
HomeCricketFit-Again KL Rahul Set To Lead Team India In Zimbabwe, Shikhar Dhawan...

Fit-Again KL Rahul Set To Lead Team India In Zimbabwe, Shikhar Dhawan Named His Deputy

The problem of plenty continues for BCCI.

KL Rahul has passed the fitness test and is all set to lead Team India in the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe. The BCCI announced on Thursday. Shikhar Dhawan has been declared his deputy. Rahul’s name was previously absent from the original 15-member BCCI roster released on July 30. Moreover, Dhawan was designated as the team’s captain. Rahul has been given the green flag to play, the BCCI stated in a statement. On August 18, 20, and 22, the three ODIs will be held at the Harare Sports Club.

“The BCCI Medical Team has assessed KL Rahul and cleared him to play in the upcoming three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy,”


Rahul had previously been included in the India team for the Asia Cup. He is now back with the Indian team after an injury break. Rahul missed the five-match T20I series against South Africa a few months ago due to a niggle he sustained prior to the match. He had surgery, which caused him to miss many games. Prior to the Tour of the West Indies, he then tested positive for COVID-19 and was unable to travel with the team. Rahul will now gain essential playing experience before the Asia Cup T20 match, which will be contested in the UAE starting on September 27.

Also Read: ‘Would want to be an asset while playing for India, not liability’- Shikhar Dhawan

BCCI is now sending 16 men’s squad for the Zimbabwean tour

The lineup omitted Indian regulars like Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, and Jasprit Bumrah. After a strong showing in the 2022 edition, Rahul Tripathi, who plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League, was selected for the ODI team. He hit three fifty-singles and scored 413 runs in 14 games, an average of 37.55. He was his side’s second-highest run scorer.

All-rounder Washington Sundar and bowler Deepak Chahar have also made a return to the side after battling injuries. With the inclusion of Rahul, the BCCI selection committee has named a 16-member squad.

India’s New squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Thank you for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjee
Live in the sunshine where you belong


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More