Monday, December 11, 2023
HomeEvergreenU Mumba - History, Players, Records, and Everything You Need to Know

U Mumba – History, Players, Records, and Everything You Need to Know

U Mumba is a Mumbai-based franchise that competes in the sport of kabaddi in the Pro Kabaddi League. This team has an essence of rich culture and flaunts it with all the pride. As already seen, the name of this team comes from the word ‘Mumba’. It is a tribute to the mother island that is the origin of the mega-city ‘MUMBAI’. The team U Mumba chose the color orange as the primary color of their jersey for a reason too! The city has an abundance of fishermen and they use the color orange to stand out and be identifiable. The team used this rich history to send out a message to the world that they will stand out from the crowd and emerge victoriously!

The journey of U Mumba from the inaugural season till now

U Mumba was the Champion in 2015.
The 2015 Champions!
Season oneThe team lost to the champions of the season- Jaipur Pink Panther in a very close match and ended as runners up
Season twoHaving a consistent performance throughout the season, they were crowned as the Star Sports Pro Kabaddi League Champions!
Season threeBeing table-toppers in the entire series, U Mumba beat Bengal Warriors and qualified for finals for the third time. They lost in a well-knitted match to Patna Pirates.
Season fourU Mumba finished fifth on the leader’s board.
Season fiveThe team finished eighth in this season.
Season sixThe team ended at overall fifth position in this season.
Season sevenThey finished third jointly in the overall championship of the league.
U Mumba’s journey.

Meet the squad

Fazel Atrachali - Captain of U Mumba
Fazel Atrachali

U Mumba is owned by Unilazer sports promoted by Ronnie Screwvala. Currently, Sanjeev Kumar Baliyan is the coach and Upendra Kumar is the deputy coach of the team. The team is currently led by Fazel Atrachali, a defender from Iran. Following is the list of players currently signed by U Mumba:

  • Ajinkya Kapre- All-rounder
  • Rinku HC- Defender
  • V Ajith Kumar- Raider
  • Mohsen Maghsoudlou Jafari- All-rounder
  • Harendra Kumar- Defender, Left cover
  • Abhishek Singh- Raider
  • Navneet- Raider
  • Sunil Siddhgavali- Defender
  • Jashandeep Singh- Raider
  • Rahul Rana- Raider
  • Ajeet- Defender
  • Ashish Kumar Sangwan- All-rounder
  • Pankaj- All-rounder

U-Mumba Kabaddi Team owner!

Ronnie Screwvala - Owner of U Mumba Kabaddi Team
Ronnie Screwvala

U Mumba is owned by Unilazer sport promoted by Ronnie Screwvala. Rohinton Soli “Ronnie” Screwvala is an Indian entrepreneur born on 8th September 1956. He is co-founder of Up-Grad. He has also built a sports company by the name U-sports spanning football, esports, and kabaddi. Ronnie has authored a book that goes by the title- Dream with Your Eyes Open. He runs an investment company Unilazer Ventures in which he invests in Indian startups as a significant private equity investor.

Record List

Being the awesome team that it is, U Mumba has several records against their name.

  • Firstly, U Mumba holds the most tackle points record.
  • Next in line, they are the first time to reach finals for three consecutive seasons.
  • In season seven, they gave away the least points to their opponents.
  • The team holds the record of winning most matches in the Pro Kabaddi League. With 81 wins in 131 matches, they have a winning average of 62%.

U Mumba is one of the most consistent teams in PKL history. They have managed to qualify for every season. There is no doubt that this team holds a good amount of chances to win the Pro Kabaddi League 2021 Champions title!

Shruti Mishra
Shruti Mishra
Shruti Mishra, An Undergraduate Student from a renowned Industrial City Jamshedpur, exploring her passion for writing about different sports.

Read More