HomeCricketIreland Knocks Out Two-Times Champions West Indies in the T20 WC Qualifier

Ireland Knocks Out Two-Times Champions West Indies in the T20 WC Qualifier

In a major upset, two times World Cup champions West Indies have been knocked out from the first round of the T20 World Cup 2022. In the clash for a place in the Super 12s, Ireland beat Nicholas Pooran-led West Indies by 9 wickets. West Indies put on a sub-par performance while batting first scoring just 146 runs at the loss of 5 wickets. Consequently, Ireland reached the target within just 18 overs to secure their place in the next and the main round of the T20 World Cup.

West Indies chose to bat first after winning the toss, however, their plan of attack laid flat facing Ireland’s bowling. Openers Kyle Mayers and Johnson Charles failed to provide a strong foundation with Mayers walking out at a score of just 1 off 5. Charles put up 24 off 18 before Simi Singh got the better of him. The only solid contribution for West Indies, ultimately, came from Brandon King who scored an unbeaten 62 off 48. King stood his ground to push the score to a fighting total with a dwindling batting line-up at the other end.

Also Read: T20 World Cup: List of all winners; Which country has most titles

For Ireland, it was Gareth Delany working wonders with a three-wicket haul. Delany took the wickets of main men Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, and, Evin Lewis to ensure Ireland’s dominance in the game. Ireland batters, subsequently, played impressively in the chase continuing the dominance. Paul Stirling registered a half-century with a score of 66 not out off 48 in a chase of 147 runs. Lorcan Tucker, in turn, scored an unbeaten 45 off 35. Ireland mastered the chase in just 17.3 overs at a loss of just a sole wicket of Andrew Balbirnie.

West Indies ousted of the T20 World Cup 2022


With this tables-turning upset, the former World Cup-dominating team exited the tournament with a major disappointment. West Indies sure need to have a grip on both their game and external factors to be back at the top of their game. However, till then, Ireland along with Sri Lanka and the Netherlands have reached the Super 12s stage.

Read More: Check out all the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup squads

The match to find the final and fourth contender is going on with Scotland facing Zimbabwe in the ongoing qualifier. Sri Lanka and Ireland have moved to Group 1 with England, Australia, New Zealand, and Afghanistan. And the Netherlands has made it to Group 2 with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and South Africa. The winner of Scotland vs Zimbabwe will join the second group to set the main campaign going.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Ayushi Singh
Ayushi Singhhttp://thesportslite.com
Ayushi is a Journalism and Mass Communication undergraduate. An avid sports enthusiast, with an inclination towards Cricket. Likes to be well informed, as she likes to be well read. Will be found indulging in a book if not in India's 2011 WC win highlights.

Read More