Monday, September 25, 2023
HomeCricket5 Highest scores in Powerplay in IPL History

5 Highest scores in Powerplay in IPL History

The basic funda to have a competitive score on board remains to be scoring as many runs as possible in the Powerplay. Batsmen use the field restrictions and find gaps to hit boundaries. Every format of the game has its own way to play. However, the shortest format is where the players experiment the most. When we talk about T20s, IPL’s mention becomes mandatory. The Indian league has a worldwide following. The major reason is the nail-biting matches and the last ball results. Let us now look at the 5 highest scores in the Powerplay in IPL history.

5 Highest Scores In Powerplay In IPL History

5) Kings XI Punjab- 86/1

Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 205 in the first innings. Naman Ojha scored a quick 79 off 36 deliveries with 4 fours and 7 sixes. Knowing that they’ve a huge score to follow, Punjab started hitting the ball from the first ball. However, they lost Sehwag’s wicket early in the evening. But it didn’t affect the runs scored. Manav Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha scored 86 runs in the first 6 overs, powerplay, with only one loss. They went on to make a massive 91 off 41 balls. Great knocks by Maxwell, Miller, and George Bailey led Punjab to meet the huge target within 18.4 overs itself. Even star bowlers Dale Steyn and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar couldn’t keep Punjab batsmen from hitting those boundaries.

4) Kochi Tuskers Kerala- 87/2

The team who played IPL for only one season made its place on a list like this. They outplayed Rajasthan Royals in either innings. Kochi’s great bowlers limited Rajasthan at 97. Brad Hogde took 4 wickets, giving only 13 runs in his 4 overs. Sreesanth and Prasanth Parmeswaram also took 2 wicket each. After limiting the opponents at an easy total of 97. Kochi tuskers went ahead completing the chase in only 7.2overs. However, they lost opener Jayawardene’s wicket early, McCullum and Parthiv didn’t let it affect the runs. Brad Hodge contributed a lot with the bat as well. Brad scored a quick 33 off only 17 balls. He went on to become the Man of the Match for his contribution with both bat and ball.

Also read: Breaking!: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi Sold For Lucknow IPL Team For 30 Crores; Rahul To Lead

3) Chennai Super Kings- 90/0

Mumbai Indians made a 183 on board with Rohit’s 50 and Keiron Pollard’s 64 with a strike rate of 213.33. This would’ve looked like a good-enough score on board. But the furious game of Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum made it look really simple for Chennai. Their partnership helped CSK have 90 runs already in the first 6 overs. The 90 runs on board without any loss was the best start that was possible. The opening duo scored a huge 90 in the powerplay itself. Dwayne Smith scored 62 off 30 deliveries, McCullum 42 off 20. After McCullum’s wicket, Suresh Raina helped Smith score those runs for the team. Raina smashed 43* off 29. CSK didn’t lose pace even though wickets fell, and wrapped off the match in only 16.4 overs.

2) Chennai Super Kings- 100/2

In 2014, Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings played Qualifier 2. KXIP had put 226 runs on board with Sehwag scoring 122 off 58 balls. Having known they have a huge target to chase, CSK started attacking from the very first ball. However, the first two wickets fell off really early. Suresh Raina made a brilliant 87 off 25 balls with a breathtaking strike rate of 348. McCullum, Dhoni, and Jadeja contributed. CSK could make a quick 100 in the Powerplay. But it could not bring them a victory. KXIP won the match, despite CSK’s quick 100 in the powerplay.

Also read: IPL 2022 Mega Auction Players List Released: Who Are All The Cricketers Participating In IPL Season 15

1) Kolkata Knight Riders- 105/0

It was this match that made Sunil Narine the record-holder of the fastest fifty in only 15 balls. Narine had a strike rate of 317.64. However, later on, KL Rahul went on to make a half-century in only 14 balls. Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn smashed massive shots to make 105 runs in only 6 overs! Narine had made his 50 within the powerplay. Chris Lynn closely followed. Chris made his fifty with a strike rate of 227.27. Imagine, both openers having scored a fifty within 7.1 overs. This headstart that was given to KKR led them to chase a total of 158 within 15.1 overs. RCB was limited to 158 by taking wickets of Gayle and Kohli early in the inning. However, Mandeep Singh and Travis Head both scored a half-century.

5 Highest scores in Powerplay in IPL History

RankTeamAgainstPowerplay ScoreYear
1Kolkata Knight RidersRoyal Challengers Bangalore105/02017
2Chennai Super KingsKings XI Punjab100/22014
3 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians90/02015
4Kochi Tuskers KeralaRajasthan Royals87/22011
5 Kings XI Punjab Sunrisers Hyderabad86/12014

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.

Read More