HomeCricketIPL 2022 Mega Auction Players List Released: Who are all the cricketers...

IPL 2022 Mega Auction Players List Released: Who are all the cricketers participating in IPL Season 15

The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) released Players list for the IPL 2022 Mega Auction. The registration for the IPL 2022 Mega Auction ended on January 20th 2022. Total of 1214 players have registered their names for the cash rich auction. Of this, 896 are from India while 318 are from overseas. The IPL 2022 mega auction will be held on February 12 and 13 in Bengaluru. There will be addition of two new teams from this season of IPL. Their addition means a total of 10 teams will be bidding for the top T20 stars from across the globe.

Stokes, Archer, Gayle, Root, Starc to skip the IPL

jofra archer chris gayle

Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Chris Gayle, Joe Root and Mitchell Starc are among the big names to miss this year IPL Auction. Root had previously declared that he would have to sacrifice IPL for England. But the omission of Sam Curran from the list is still a surprise. Another big name missing from the list is Chris Gayle. The Jamaican has been a regular feature in the IPL since its inception but the West Indies veteran, who is surely near the autumn of his international career, may have realized the diminishing batting returns.

Main highlights of the Auction

Players in 2 Crore Bracket

IPL 2022 Mega Auction Players List released

INR 1.5 Crore Bracket

Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Washington Sundar, Aaron Finch, Chris Lynn, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan, Dawid Malan, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Southee, Colin Ingram, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran.

INR 1 Crore Bracket

Piyush Chawla, Kedar Jadhav, Prasidh Krishna, T Natarajan, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Nitish Rana, Wriddhiman Saha, Kuldeep Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Mohammad Nabi, James Faulkner, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, D’Arcy Short, Andrew Tye, Dan Lawrence, Liam Livingstone, Tymal Mills, Ollie Pope, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Aiden Markram, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Wanindu Hasaranga, Roston Chase, Sherfane Rutherford.

Also Read: Breaking: Ben Stokes And Root Will Not Be Part Of IPL 2022 Auction Due To Country’s Responsibility

Detailed List of the Players

BCCI released the list of players participating in IPL 2022 Mega Auction 2022. Here is the detailed list of the players participating in the cash-rich event.

  • Capped Indian (61 players)
  • Capped International (209 players)
  • Associate (41 players)
  • Uncapped Indians who were a part of previous IPL seasons (143 players)
  • Uncapped International who were a part of previous IPL seasons (6 players)
  • Uncapped Indians (692 players)
  • Uncapped Internationals (62 players)

The country wise breakdown of 318 overseas players is listed below

CountryNumber of Players
South Africa 48
West Indies41
Sri Lanka36
England 30
New Zealand 29
Oman 3

The two new teams, Lucknow and Ahmedabad have also finalized their drafts ahead of the Mega Auction. Ahmedabad picked Hardik Pandya as the captain. Other two draft picks were Rashid Khan and Shubman Gill. Team Lucknow picked KL Rahul as the captain. Other two draft were Ravi Bishnoi and Marcus Stoinis. The remaining purse of all the teams that will come into the picture in the Mega Auction is as follows:

TeamsNumber of retentions/purchasesPurse Available (INR)
MI448 CR
DC447.5 CR
RR362 CR
Lucknow359.8 CR
Ahmedabad352 CR
Jatin Sethi
Jatin Sethihttp://thesportslite.com
Passionate about Cricket and Writing. Just following my passion and doing what I like the most.

Read More