Saturday, October 1, 2022
HomeCricketBCCI announces T20I squad for South Africa series: Umran Malik gets maiden...

BCCI announces T20I squad for South Africa series: Umran Malik gets maiden call-up, Karthik, Pandya makes comeback

The teams will play 5 T20Is starting 9th June.

The much-awaited T20I squad for South Africa series is finally out. There were several speculations that Shikhar Dhawan or Hardik Pandya are likely to lead the team. However, KL Rahul is the first choice to captain the team. The 18-member squad was announced on BCCI’s official Twitter handle. Post-IPL, India is all set to take on the touring South Africa squad. A total of 5 T20Is will be played between the 2 nations. the ongoing IPL has played a major role in the selection of squads for both teams. Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh earn the maiden call-up. Whereas, Rahul Tripathi’s absence from the squad disappointed fans. Since India will be touring England soon after the SA series, 2 different squads had to be named. The 5th rescheduled Test will be played in Birmingham. The squad for the re-scheduled Test is also announced.

India’s T20I squad for South Africa series

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik


  • Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh get the maiden call-up
  • Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya make a comeback
  • Rahul Tripathi’s wait for the India cap continues
  • KL Rahul to captain, Rishabh Pant his deputy
  • Injured Suryakumar Yadav misses

South Africa Squad

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen

South Africa tour of India 2022– schedule

June 091st T20IDelhi
June 122nd T20ICuttack
June 143rd T20IVishakapatnam
June 174th T20IRajkot
June 195th T20IBengaluru

Thank you for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More