HomeCricketBad News for Raina fans: Rahmanullah Gurbaz set to replace Jason Roy...

Bad News for Raina fans: Rahmanullah Gurbaz set to replace Jason Roy at Gujarat Titans

Jason Roy had pulled out of the IPL 2022. This left fans shocked, however, he has become a father recently and wants to give more time to his family. Moreover, bio-bubble fatigue is also a reason for him to withdraw from the tournament. At the Mega auction, Roy was bought by GT for 2 crores INR. This decision left an empty place in the team’s squad. The IPL 2022 will begin on 26th March. This season, 10 teams will be contesting. Gujarat Titans is one of the 2 new franchises this year. Now, Afghanistan cricketer Rahmanullah Gurbaz is supposedly all set to replace Jason Roy. Gujarat Titans will kickstart the tournament against LSG on March 28.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz to replace Jason Roy at Gujarat Titans

Although the franchise has not made it official, they’ve found a replacement for Roy. The batter and wicketkeeper from Afghanistan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz has been roped in. However, this isn’t a skill-wise perfect replacement. Since Saha and Wade will miss the early matches, Gurbaz comes as an additional option. According to reports, the 20-year-old cricketer Gurbaz’s name has been sent to BCCI for approval. But people from Afghan cricket have already confirmed Gurbaz’s addition to the GT squad. Rahmanullah Gurbaz will become the third Afghani cricketer to be a part of the Gujarat team. Today, Gurbaz himself had posted a story on his Instagram which verify the rumors.

Gurbaz has played 9 ODIs and 18 T20Is for the national side. Scoring 531 runs in ODI cricket he has an average of 29.5. In addition, he is the first Afghan to hit a century in ODI debut. Moreover, he has played for Islamabad United in PSL 2022. He had an impressive strike rate of 180.51 in the tournament. The other teams that he had represented in league cricket are- Khulna Titans, Barbados Tridents, Multan Sultans, and Jaffna Kings.

Also read: IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans Full Schedule, Day, Date, Timings, Venue, Pdf Download And Other Details

Gujarat Titans Squad 2022

Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami, Lockie Ferguson, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Abhinav Sadarangani, Rahul Tewatia, Noor Ahmed, Sai Kishore, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Dominic Drakes, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph, Pradeep Sangwan, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Varun Aaron, B Sai Sudharshan.

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadavhttp://thesportslite.com
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.

Read More