Monday, December 11, 2023
HomeCricketAustralia squad for Ashes 2021 out for first two tests

Australia squad for Ashes 2021 out for first two tests

Cricket Australia on Wednesday names the 15-member squad. It is led by Tim Paine for the first two test matches of the upcoming Ashes Test series against England. The Ashes series will be the first Test series since last summer’s Border-Gavaskar campaign, which they lost to India. Along with the Australia Ashes squad 2021, Cricket Australia also named players who will be part of the Australia A team for a tour match against the English Lions.

Australia Ashes squad 2021: Usman Khawaja, Jhye Richardson get a recall 

Usman Khawaja

The Australia Ashes squad 2021 will witness Usman Khawaja and Jhye Richardson. Both are making their return to the Test team after a long interval. Usman Khawaja, last out in the red ball cricket was during Australia’s 2019 tour of England. The left-hander is likely to fight for a place in the middle order. The other option is Travis Head, which means Marcus Harris will open alongside David Warner. 

According to Cricket Australia release skipper Tim Paine who has not played any cricket this season due to recent neck surgery, is expected to turn out in Premier Cricket in Hobart this week after which he will feature in a four-day second XI match for Tasmania against South Australia.

Australia squad for Ashes 2021

Major missing

The names missing from the list are opener Will Pucovski (who recently suffered a concussion) and all-rounder Moises Henriques. He has been unavailable for the start of the New South Wales season due to quarantine after an IPL stint. Michael Neser retains his place in the Ashes race despite suffering a hamstring injury last week . Medical staff expecting that he will be fit to play during the internal practice sessions.

Will Pucovski

Australia Ashes squad 2021

Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Australia has also named a further 11 players for a tour match against the England Lions, a list that includes former Test batters Matthew Renshaw and Nic Maddinson, along with rising stars Henry Hunt and Bryce Street.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma And Rahul Dravid Press Conference Ahead Of India Vs New Zealand Series

Additional Australia A players:

Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street.

Vodafone Men’s Ashes Australia vs England schedule

Tour Matches

Nov 23-25: England v England Lions, Brisbane

Nov 30 – Dec 3: England v England Lions, Brisbane

Dec 1-3:  Australian intra-squad match, Brisbane

Dec 9-12: Australia A v England Lions, Brisbane


First Test: December 8-12, The Gabba

Second Test: December 16-20, Adelaide Oval

Third Test: December 26-30, MCG

Fourth Test: January 5-9, SCG

Fifth Test: January 14-18, Perth Stadium

Jatin Sethi
Jatin Sethi
Passionate about Cricket and Writing. Just following my passion and doing what I like the most.

Read More