Monday, December 11, 2023
HomeEvergreenPatna Pirates- History, Players, Records, and All You Need to Know

Patna Pirates- History, Players, Records, and All You Need to Know

One of the eight teams found in 2014, Patna Pirates played its first-ever league in the inaugural season of the Pro Kabaddi League. The team is based in Patna, Bihar. Patna Pirates are undeniably the most successful team in the history of the Pro Kabaddi League. The Pirates won their first title by defending U Mumba in 2016. Before that, they were in strong competition with other teams till the semi-finals in the past two seasons consecutively. Here are all the facts you need to know about this fierce team!

The journey of Patna Pirates from the inaugural season till now

Patna pirates 2017 champions
2017 PKL champions
Season oneThe team finished third in the inaugural season.
Season twoPatna Pirates finished in the fourth spot.
Season threePatna Pirates were crowned as CHAMPIONS of this season.
Season fourIn this season the team successfully defended their title and became the two-time champions!
Season fiveThe Pirates beat Gujrat Fortune Giants to become the first “three-time champion” of the Pro Kabaddi League.
Season sixThe Pirates ended fourth in this season.
Season sevenThis was not a good season for the Pirates and they could not qualify for playoffs.
Patna Pirate’s Journey

Meet The Squad of Patna Pirates

Patna Pirates’ leading player is yet to be announced. The franchise is owned by Rajiv V Shah, Aditya Pratap Singh. Ram Meher Singh is the manager of Patna Pirates. They are currently coached by Ram Mehar Singh. Their home ground is Patliputra Sports Complex in Patna. Following is the list of players signed in by the Patna franchise.

  • Guman Singh- raider
  • Jang Kun Lee- raider
  • Mohit- raider
  • Monu- Raider
  • Monu Goyat- raider
  • Prashanth Kumar Rai- raider
  • Ranjveersingh Chavan- raider
  • Sachin Tanwar- raider
  • Neeraj Kumar- defender, right corner
  • Sandeep- defender, left corner
  • Shubham Shinde- defender
  • Sourav Gulia- defender
  • Sunil- defender
  • C Sajin- all rounder
  • Sahil Mann- all rounder
  • Shadloui Chianeh- all rounder

Who is the owner of Patna Pirates Kabaddi team?

Rajesh V Shah
Rajesh V Shah

Patna Pirates is owned by Rajesh V Shah. He is the chairman of Mukund Enterprises. He also owns various other steel and manufacturing industries. Mr. Shah is a well-known businessman from Gujrat. It is said that he is great friends with Mr. Anand Mahindra, who happens to be the promoter of the game. It is due to this reason that he bought his team to the league.

Record List

patna pirates record list
Raid King- Patna Pirates

The most successful team in the Pro Kabaddi League undoubtedly has many records in their name. Here are a few of those records to list..

  • Firstly, the Pirates have made six appearances out of seven times in the playoffs of the league.
  • Secondly, they are the ‘raid kings’. Patna Pirates has the most number of successful raids, most raid points, and most super raids.
  • Next, they have the record for most points. They have scored 3883 points in 112 matches so far.
  • Last but not the least, they are the only team to have three consecutive titles to their name!

The chances of Pirates winning this season is really high. They have really skilled players and are three times defending champions. With big hopes and even bigger responsibilities, they will be on the floor to play their matches from December. Do not forget to tune in to Star Sports and watch your favorite “Le Panga”.

Shruti Mishra
Shruti Mishra
Shruti Mishra, An Undergraduate Student from a renowned Industrial City Jamshedpur, exploring her passion for writing about different sports.

Read More