HomeCricketRR vs KKR Match Result: Chahal's Hat-trick and Jos Buttler's century leads...

RR vs KKR Match Result: Chahal’s Hat-trick and Jos Buttler’s century leads Rajasthan Royals to 2nd on points table, won 4th match out of 6

KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer and Aaron Finch’s knocks go in vain as Rajasthan Royals beat KKR by 7 runs.

RR vs KKR Match Result: Chahal’s Hat-trick and Jos Buttler’s century leads Rajasthan Royals to 2nd on points table, won 4th match out of 6

Match Overview

Ist Inning

RR vs KKR Match Result: Chahal's Hat-trick

KKR won the toss elected to bowl first. RR openers Jos Buttler and Devdutt Padikkal gave RR a solid start. KKR’s mystery spinner Sunil Narine finally managed a breakthrough in the 10th over dismissing Padikkal for 24. With Skipper Sanju Samson in the middle, RR opened a double-barreled attack on KKR bowlers. In the sixteenth over, Andre Russell was able to send Samson away. Samson made 38 runs in 19 balls. Buttler came up with his second ton of the season, he made 103 runs in 61 balls hitting all over the park. The late cameo of Shimron Hetmyer boosted RR’s final score as they set the highest total of the season so far. RR made 217/5.

Also Read: Just In: India will host Asia Cup 2022 due to ongoing economic crisis in Sri Lanka, Reports

IInd inning

With a massive target to achieve KKR sent Sunil Narine to catalyse their inning. But their decision went in vain as he got caught in a mix up in the very first ball and went away without facing a delivery. Then KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer and Aaron Finch anchored KKR’s run chase. Finally, in the ninth over Prasidh Krishna dismissed Finch who made 58 runs in just 28 balls. With the middle order debacle, KKR in the latter half of the inning started to lag. And with their Captain departing in the seventeenth over it was a tough road ahead. Shreyas Iyer made 85 runs in 51 balls hitting 7 boundaries and 4 sixes. With the tailenders soiling their boots in the death overs, RR managed a narrow victory of 7 runs. Yuzvendra Chahal picked up a fifer while debutant Obed Mccoy grabbed a pair of them. From the fifth position, they now climb up to the second position in the points table.

Who won the Man of the Match?

Yuzvendra Chahal won the Man of the Match award for a class apart spell of 5/40 in his quota of 4 overs. Chahal seemed unplayable to the KKR batters in the later half of the inning. He also bagged the first hat trick of the season.

Playing Squad

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Rassie van der Dussen, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, James Neesham, Ravichandran Ashwin, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Sen, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult, Karun Nair, Navdeep Saini, KC Cariappa, Daryl Mitchell, Obed McCoy, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anunay Singh, Dhruv Jurel, Shubham Garhwal

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad: Venkatesh Iyer, Aaron Finch, Shreyas Iyer(c), Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Sheldon Jackson(w), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Aman Hakim Khan, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakaravarthy, Tim Southee, Sam Billings, Mohammad Nabi, Chamika Karunaratne, Ajinkya Rahane, Baba Indrajith, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Shivam Mavi, Pratham Singh, Abhijeet Tomar, Ashok Sharma, Ramesh Kumar, Harshit Rana

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More