HomeCricketKKR vs PBKS Match Result, IPL 2022: Who won Kolkata Knight Riders...

KKR vs PBKS Match Result, IPL 2022: Who won Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings Match?

KKR chased down the 137 run target with 33 balls to spare and won by 6 wickets over PBKS. Andre Russel scored a counter-attack fifty as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Punjab Kings (PBKS) by six wickets in match 8 of the ongoing IPL 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

KKR vs PBKS Match Result, IPL 2022: Who won Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings Match?

Match Overview

Ist Inning

KKR had won the toss and decided to bowl first and the opposition to the test. The first blow to the Kings was in the first over itself when opener Mayank Yadav was dismissed by Umesh Yadav. Then Shikhar Dhawan and Rajapakshi stabilised the innings for a couple of overs. But Rajapaksa’s fiery stint of 31 runs in just 9 balls ended in the 4th over. And from then on PBKS kept losing wickets at regular intervals and the scoreboard lost its pace. KKR’s bowling squad was on fire today with Umesh bagging 4 wickets and Southee 2 wickets. However, in the end, the tailender Rabada kept rotating the strike and made an unbeaten 25 runs with 4 boundaries. PBS’s final score was 137.

Also Read: IPL 2022: MI vs RR Dream11 Team Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Captain & Vice-Captain, Playing XI, Pitch report, and other updates

IInd Inning

KKR vs PBKS Match Result, IPL 2022

Requiring just 138 to win, KKR’s first wicket Rahane fell in the second over. Then both the Iyers started building the innings but Venkatesh Iyer departed when KKR were 38/2. A double blow was given to the Knights in the seventh over by Rahul Chahar. KKR was now choking at 51/4 and then came the classic Dre Russ storm, the first time this year. Russell hammered eight 6s and 2 4s making an unbeaten 70 with the support of Billings from the other end. And KKR got past the mark in the fifteenth over with 6 wickets to spare.

Who won the Player(Man) of the Match today?

Umesh Yadav was awarded the Man of the match for his fiery spell of 4/23 and choking the run rate of the opposition. Yadav looks in terrific form this season in the previous matches too.

Playing Squad

Kolkata Knight Riders:Venkatesh Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (capt), Nitish Rana, Sam Billings (wk), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy.

Punjab Kings:Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal (capt), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (wk), Liam Livingstone, Raj Bawa, Shahrukh Khan, Odean Smith, Harpreet Brar, Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Chahar, Kagiso Rabada.

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More