HomeCricketIshan Kishan Replaces KL Rahul For WTC

Ishan Kishan Replaces KL Rahul For WTC

The batter and wicket-keeper Ishan Kishan replaced KL Rahul in India’s squad for the WTC Final. KL Rahul has been ruled out due to a thigh injury in the match against RCB. Rahul injured his right thigh while sprinting towards the boundary to a Faf du Plessis cover drive. His scans were done in Mumbai at the BCCI-designated medical facility.

In an Instagram post, Rahul wrote “After careful consideration and consultation with the medical team, it’s been concluded that I’ll be undergoing surgery on my thigh shortly.” Further, he wrote “Absolutely gutted that I won’t be at the Oval next month with Team India. I’ll do everything I can to get back in the blue and help my country.”

Kishan is uncapped in Test cricket but has played 14 ODIs and 27 T20Is so far. He was also part of the Test squad for the home series against Australia before the IPL. After KS Bharat, he is the second wicketkeeper in India’s WTC squad. In the absence of Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat recently made his Test debut against Australia in February this year. He played six innings in the four Tests and scored 101 runs with a high score of 44.

Also Read: IRE vs BAN: England Will Host Crucial Series Between Ireland and Bangladesh

Kishan has played 48 first-class matches so far. He has scored 2985 runs at an average of 38.76 with six hundreds. In the recent Ranji Trophy, he played just two games and scored 180 runs with an average of 45.

India Squad News

According to a BCCI statement, a decision on Jaydev Unadkat for the WTC final will be taken later. Meanwhile, batters Suryakumar Yadav and Ruturaj Gaikwad, and seamer Mukesh Kumar have been named as reserve players for the WTC final. The WTC Final will be played at The Oval from 7 to 11 June against Australia.

India squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk)

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂


Read More