HomeCricketJust IN: ICC Men's Test Team of the year announced: 3 Indians...

Just IN: ICC Men’s Test Team of the year announced: 3 Indians included

The International Council of Cricket (ICC) announced the Men’s Test Team of the year 2021 today. After every year, ICC announced the team of the year in each format and players who did exceptionally well in that year are given the chance in the Team of the Year. Notably, 3 Indians were included in ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year. There is no place for former Indian skipper, Virat Kohli. Kane Williamson given the charge to lead the Test Team of the Year 2021. Here’s a look at Men’s Test Team of the Year 2021 that ICC announced today.

Let’s look at ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2021

Indian batsman Rohit Sharma and Sri Lanka opener Dimuth Karunaratne selected as the opener in the Men’s Test Team of the Year. This was the best year for Rohit Sharma as an Indian opener. He established himself as permanent opener for the Team India in the longest format. Rohit scored runs in difficult situations. Dimuth Karunaratne is a deserved addition to this team. Karunaratne constantly give solid start to his team in the calendar year. Karunaratne scored 4 centuries in the year 2021 with an average of 69.38. At NO. 3, we have Marnus Labuschagne. Marnus just played 5 Tests in 2021. But this is his impact that by playing only 5 Tests he can feature in the Test Team of the Year. Labuschagne continues to score runs in bulk for Australia.

icc mens test team

2021 belonged to Joe Root though his team struggled for results. In the year 2021, Root scored 1708 runs at an average of 61. This is the third most runs in the calendar year in the history of Test Cricket. Kane Williamson is selected on the No. 5 spot. Kane also lead this ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year. He was an absolute leader for his team, leading them to win the inaugural World Test Championship Final against India. Williamson is a steady performer with bat, scoring 395 runs in 4 matches at an average of 65.83.

Also Read: Exclusive: Cricket Australia announced their Best Test XI of the year 2021: 4 Indians included

Rishabh Pant to keep wickets

rishabh pant

The year 2021 has been a memorable one for Rishabh Pant. He established himself as the first choice wicketkeeper for India in Tests. He scored 748 runs in 12 matches at an average of 39.36 with one memorable ton against England at Ahmedabad. Rishabh Pant wicketkeeping continues to improve. The spin department is handled by Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. The off-spinner bamboozled many batters with his sheer wizardry. Ashwin scalped 54 wickets in 9 matches at an average of 16.64. He also chipped in with 355 runs at an average of 25.35, which included a vital century against England in Chennai.

The pace bowling attack is looked after by Kyle Jamieson and Pakistan duo of Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi. Jamieson emerged as a brilliant bowling option for Kiwis in New Zealand. Jamieson was also awarded as the Man of the Match in New Zealand’s victory over India in World Test Championship Final. It was the year to remember for Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali both. This is the best year for Hasan Ali in his career especially in the longest format. Shaheen Afridi picked up 47 wickets in 9 matches. Shaheen is only 21 years. He will likely to lead the Pakistan bowling lineup for years to come.


virat kohli

This was the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year for 2021. Three Indians were included in the Playing XI. However, there is no place for former Indian skipper Virat Kohli. Virat Kohli doesn’t feature in ICC Team of the Year for any format for the year 2021. He was not in his best of form for some time.

Jatin Sethi
Jatin Sethihttp://thesportslite.com
Passionate about Cricket and Writing. Just following my passion and doing what I like the most.

Read More