HomeCricketThe Ashes 2024: ECB confirms the schedule of the prestigious Test Series

The Ashes 2024: ECB confirms the schedule of the prestigious Test Series

Would England be able to redeem themselves or Australia will retain the Ashes title?

England Cricket Board on Wednesday confirmed the fixtures of The Ashes 2024. The prestigious test series is played between the two arch-rivals, England and Australia. The schedule includes five tests played between both nation’s men’s teams, including a test, 3 game ODIs as well as 3 T20Is will be played between the women’s teams.

Also Read: England’s Bazball Approach in Test cricket and its consequences

The English summer is going to get even hotter this time. As the hosts bid to hit back against Australia at home in June and July next year. The series will commence on June 16 at Edgbaston.  

ECB’s Interim Chief Executive Officer Clare Connor announced on Wednesday,

“Next summer will be huge for England women and England men. There are few events more special in English sport than a home Ashes series and I know that Heather, Ben, and their teams, will be excited and driven by the challenge of regaining the Ashes.

“I am particularly delighted that we have announced our England men and England women’s fixtures side by side for the first time, meaning that supporters can enter the ballot or register interest for any fixture on the same day. June and July will be very special months for cricket in this country with the buzz of two Ashes series taking place simultaneously.”

Also Read: Alex Hales completes his redemption as England beats Pakistan in the first T20I

Ashes 2024 detailed schedule

LV= Insurance Men’s Ashes Series    EDGBASTON

Fri 16- Tue 20 June
Wed 28 June- Sun 2 July
Thu 6- Mon 10 July Wed 19- Sun 23 July
Thu 27- Mon 31 July
LV= Insurance Women’s Ashes SeriesTRENT BRIDGEThu 22- Mon 26 June
Vitality T20Is, Women’s Ashes SeriesEDGBASTON
Sat 1 July
Wed 5 July
Sat 8 July
One Day Internationals, Women’s Ashes SeriesSEAT UNIQUE STADIUM, BRISTOL

Wed 12 July  

Sun 16 July

Tue 18 July  

Ben Stokes to captain in the Ashes for the first time

Ben Stokes to captain in the Ashes for the first time

Current English captain Ben Stokes is all set to lead the national team for the first time in the Ashes, following former captain Joe Root’s resignation post the pathetic loss in the previous edition of the test series. The hosts are currently looking in great form after a 2-1 series victory against dangerous Proteas. Will like to regain the urn for the time since 2015.

Moreover, Heather Knight will lead the English women’s contingent against the Australian women’s team. As the will the first faceoff in the only test, on 22nd June. Currently, they are hosting India for a three-match series in both the limited-over formats.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship: Standings; Road Ahead for Teams

Thank you for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead🙂

Prachi Rajan
Prachi Rajanhttp://thesportslite.com
A literature nerd excelling at cricket who also wants you to look at the world with her eyes so that you could witness the beauty her eyes behold.

Read More