HomeCricketSurya Kumar and KL Rahul's half centuries lead India to record the...

Surya Kumar and KL Rahul’s half centuries lead India to record the win in first T20 match against South Africa

KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav both scored unbroken fifties as India defeated South Africa in the opening T20I by eight wickets while chasing a target of 107. After a rough start, Suryakumar Yadav (50 not out off 33) gave India some much-needed momentum in the chase. In the wake of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli‘s early dismissals, KL Rahul (51 not out of 56) has also found his footing. Earlier, India managed to hold South Africa to a below-par score of 106/8 in 20 overs thanks to the three wickets taken by Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, and Harshal Patel respectively.

Surya Finishes off things in style

Also Read: BCCI rejects ECB’s informal proposal to host India vs Pakistan series in England – Report

Only Keshav Maharaj held his ground against the Indian bowling lineup

Chahar launched India’s innings after winning the toss by dismissing Proteas skipper Temba Bavuma with the final ball of the first over. To frighten the guests, Arshdeep then got rid of Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, and David Miller in the second over. In the next over, Tristan Stubbs too departed, as Chahar took up his second wicket. South Africa passed the 100-run threshold because to a strong rearguard from Keshav Maharaj (41), who played. Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Yuzvendra Chahal were replaced by Deepak Chahar, Rishabh Pant, Arshdeep Singh, and Ravichandran Ashwin in the fourth T20I match between India and Australia.

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More