HomeCricketBCCI and CA bring in a major change in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy...

BCCI and CA bring in a major change in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in the next FTP cycle

India and Australia will play two five-Test series in the next two WTC Cycles.

For the first time since 1992, India and Australia will play five-match test series for Border-Gavaskar Trophy in ICC’s next cycle of Future Tour Programs (FTP) from May 2024 to April 2027.

In 2018-19, India Tour of Australia India defeated Australia by 2-1. And became 1st Asian team to win a Test series in Australia. 2 years later young lads gave an extraordinary performance and breached Australia’s fortress Gabba and clinched the test series by 2-1 again. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy was retained by India. Both times there were discussions about contesting a five-match test series. But now it is expected that BCCi and CA will think about playing two such series in the next 4 years of span.

As per the latest ICC’s almost confirmed FTP draft, India is scheduled to play five-match Test series in Australia in December-January 2024-25. The return series will take place in India in early 2027. Both series will be part of the next two World Test Championship Cycles in 2024-25 and 2025-2027 respectively.

India will also play two five-test series with England. At home in early 2024 whereas away in 2025. The Home series will be part of the WTC 2024-25 Cycle whereas the Away series will be part of the WTC 2025-27 cycle.

Read more: 3 Indian Players to look out for against West Indies

As per the FTP draft, India is scheduled to play 38 tests during this 2024-27 cycle. It will be only 4 tests fewer than England (42) and 3 fewer than Australia (41). Only the other two countries Bangladesh (34) and Newzealand (32) will play more than 30 tests.

As per the norm, the series that comprise the WTC cycles have been agreed upon by the participating countries themselves. While the series for both WTC cycles have been fixed. But adjustments can be made regarding the number of matches and dates. So ICC which plays facilitating role to help them final the FPP draft needs this potentially completed by the end of the ICC annual conference on July 25 and 26 in Birmingham, England.

Other Test series- Short and Sweet

Apart from the five-match Test series with Australia and England India will play one three-match Test series. Which will be a three-match home Test series with Newzealand in October-November 2024. India will play the rest of the series with two-match Test series. Whereas England and Australia will play more three-match Test series over the next four years.

Know about: “Keep shining and rising” Virat Kohli replies to Babar Azam’s viral “This too shall pass” Tweet

Australia will play with three-match Test series with Pakistan in December 2024 at home. Whereas three-match away Test series with South Africa in September-October 2026. Followed by three-match Test series with New Zealand in December and January 2027 at Home. Australia will also play a three-match away Test series with West Indies in June-July 2025.

England will play six Test series which consist of three-match 3-3 home and away series each. England will play the Home series with West Indies (June-July 2024), New Zealand (June 2026), and Pakistan (August-September 2026). They will play the Away series with Pakistan (October 2024), New Zealand (December 2024), and South Africa (December-January 2027).

No ODI Super League, ODI Tri-Series Returns

ICC used the ODI Super League format for the qualification of ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2024. So that teams player bilateral series instead of scheduling any Tri-series. Tri-series always become interesting to watch. ICC has removed the Super League format from May 2024 so it is expected to be more bilateral series as well as tri-series too.

Read more: Netherlands and Zimbabwe qualify for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

There are some tri-series likely to be hosted. Pakistan is likely to host New Zealand and South Africa in February 2025 ahead of the Champions Trophy 2025. Pakistan is the host of ICC Champions Trophy 2025. In June-July 2025 Zimbabwe will host New Zealand and South Africa for another tri-series. In October-November 2026 Pakistan will host another tri-series with Sri Lanka and the third team is yet to be decided.

More five-match T20I series

Back to Back T20 World cup resulted in playing five-match T20I series more. Teams loved to gear up for the upcoming T20 World Cup. In this cycle 15 five-match T20I series are likely to be played. Of which, 9 out of them consist of India and some of them are yet to be confirmed.

Bhushan Kothmire
Bhushan Kothmirehttp://thesportslite.com
I watch sports. I write sports. I live sports. Sports Journalist specializing in Cricket.

Read More