HomeCricketNetherlands and Zimbabwe qualify for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

Netherlands and Zimbabwe qualify for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Netherlands and Zimbabwe booked their ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 Berth.

Netherlands and Zimbabwe qualify for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Netherlands and Zimbabwe won their respective semi-finals of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B. Dutch got a comfortable victory against the USA whereas Zimbabwe defended their target easily.

Netherlands grab ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Spot

After opting to bat USA got off to a great start. All Rounder Steven Taylor and Skipper Monank Patel got them to a good start. But Van Meekeren got a breakthrough for the Netherlands in the 6th over. He got Steven Taylor caught behind the stumps. USA scored 60-1 in their powerplay. They lost their Skipper Monank Patel in the 8th over. And after that wickets just felt tumbling and USA managed to score 138 in 19.4 overs. Nisarg Patel managed to score 28(23) whereas Aaron Jones 15(19) and Jaskaran Malhotra 12 (13) were able to reach the double figures. Bas De Leede and Van Meekeren grabbed 2 wickets each whereas Shariz Ahmed and Van Beek picked up 1 wicket each.

While chasing the target of 139 Netherlands lost their opener in the very first over. Netravalkar got Stephen Myburgh for a duck. Bas de Leede and Max ODowd carried their team through the powerplay and they scored 53-1 in powerplay. Nisarg Patel caught and bowled Max ODowd in the very next over after the powerplay. Stevenson dismissed Tom Cooper in the 8th over. Netherlands lost 2 wickets in quick succession. Later Skipper Scott Edwards and Bas de Leede’s partnership took them home comfortably. Bas de Leede scored a brilliant knock of 91* (67) and Skipper Edwards scored 26* (25). With this victory, they have qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Read more: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Fixtures announced; India to face Pakistan on Oct 23

Zimbabwe seals ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Berth

Semi-final 1 was played between the Hosts Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea. Zimbabwe defeated Papua New Guinea by 27 runs and qualified for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

After opting to bat 1st Zimbabwe posted a mammoth total of 199-5. Chakabva and Craig Ervine got off to a good start. Sese Bau dismissed Chakabva who was looking dangerous. Madhevere and Skipper Ervine stitched 63 runs partnership for the 2nd wicket. Sese Bau dismissed opener and Skipper Craig Ervine in the 12th over. Hekure dismissed well set Madhevere on 42. Charles Amini later dismissed Sean Williams and Sikandar Raza both for 22. Milton Shumba 29*(14) and Ryan Burl 10*(5) helped Zimbabwe to post 199-5 on the board.

Know about: T20 World Cup 2022: Roadmap for Team India

While chasing the huge target of 200 Papua New Guinea lost their opener on the very first ball. Sean Williams ran out Lega Siaka for 0(1). Sikandar Raza dismissed PNG skipper Assad Vala for 7(7). Wesley Madhevere dismissed Sese Bau for 5(6) who was having a good day with the ball. Charles Amini scored 31(26) whereas Tony Ura managed to score 66(35). Sean Williams got the breakthrough of well-set Tony Ura whereas Luke Jongwe dismissed Amini who was looking good. Later Blessing Muzarabani struck twice to get rid of Riley Hekure and Norman Vanua. Ngrava dismissed Hila Vare in 20th over. And Papua New Guinea finished with 172-8. It was a good fighting spirit shown by Papua New Guinea. After this victory crowd just started the celebrations as their team has been qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

On Sunday 3rd place Play-off will be played between Papua New Guinea. Whereas the Final would be played between Zimbabwe and Netherlands.

Read more: T20 World Cup 2024 Qualification Criteria revealed by ICC, 20 teams to feature in the tournament including host USA

16 teams for the T20 World Cup 2022:

Zimbabwe and Netherlands qualify for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. But they will play the Round 1 matches with West Indies, Sri Lanka, Scotland, Namibia, Ireland, and UAE. These 8 teams will be divided into two groups. The top two teams from each group will join Australia, India, Bangladesh, England, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa in the Super 12s.

Bhushan Kothmire
Bhushan Kothmirehttp://thesportslite.com
I watch sports. I write sports. I live sports. Sports Journalist specializing in Cricket.

Read More