HomeCricketT20 World Cup 2024 Qualification Criteria revealed by ICC, 20 teams to...

T20 World Cup 2024 Qualification Criteria revealed by ICC, 20 teams to feature in the tournament including host USA

ICC Board Meeting was held on Sunday. Qualification for 2024 Men's T20, 2024 women's T20, and 2025 ODI WC are announced. The inaugural U19 Women's T20 WC will be played in January 2024.

ICC announced the qualification criteria for some of the upcoming marquee events. The events include the ICC Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cup 2024. Whereas, ICC women’s Cricket World Cup will be played in 2025. In addition, the tentative dates for the inaugural U19 Women’s T20 WC have been released. South Africa is set to host both U19 Women’s T20 and ICC Women’s T20 WC in 2024. There have been some major changes in the selection criteria. Let us have a look at how many teams will be competing in the T20 WC 2024.

Qualification Criteria for Marquee events

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

A total of 20 teams will be competing in the 2024 WC. Of which 12 teams are confirmed- hosts West Indies and the USA, Top 8 teams in 2022 T20 WC. While the other two teams will be Teams top placed in MRF ICC Men’s T20 table as of 14th November 2022. Moreover, the other 8 teams will be decided by a regional qualifying process. Asia, Africa, and Europe groups will have 2 slots each. Whereas, East Asia and Pacific [EAP] and America will have a slot each.

20 teams breakdown:

USA and WI- hosts

Top 8 teams in T20 WC 2022 [to be held in Australia]

2 teams placed highest on MRF ICC Men’s T20 rankings [other than the teams already qualified by the first 2 criteria]

One team each from EAP and America

Two teams each from Asia, Africa, Europe

Also read: U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2024: South Africa will host the first-ever women’s Under 19 World Cup in Jan next year

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024

For women’s T20 WC 2024, 8 out of 10 teams will automatically qualify for the tournament. Which will include- the top 3 teams in each group of the 2024 Event and the Host Nation. The other slots will be filled by the highest-ranked teams as per the MRF ICC Women’s T20 rankings. The date will be a pre-decided one. However, it has not been announced yet. In addition, a global qualifier will be arranged for the remaining two slots. Unlike the Men’s T20, a global qualifier will be there for qualification.

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025

8 teams will feature in the ICC Women’s CWC 2025. So, 5 out of 8 teams will be the top teams at the end of the 2022-25 ICC Women’s Championship. While, the 6th team to qualify will be the Host, which is yet to be announced. For the remaining two slots, a global qualifier will be held. In addition to the 4 teams at the bottom of the IWC Table, 2 teams from ODI rankings will be featuring the qualifiers.

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadavhttp://thesportslite.com
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.

Read More