HomeTennisRafael Nadal becomes first player in tennis history to win multiple majors...

Rafael Nadal becomes first player in tennis history to win multiple majors in three different decades

Rafael Nadal won the Australian Open this year, becoming the first male or female player to do so. It was his second Grand Slam victory of the 2020s; he had previously won six in the 2000s and thirteen in the 2010s. He broke his own record by winning Roland Garros, making him the first person to ever win three or more majors in three different decades. As if that weren’t historic enough, he also broke his own record in the previous decade.

He was one of only seven tennis players in history to have won at least one Grand Slam title in each decade prior to 2022, placing him in elite company.

Players winning tennis majors in three decades

Blanche Bingley Hillyard2 in 1880s, 3 in 1890s, 1 in 1900s
Nancye Wynne Bolton1 in 1930s, 4 in 1940s, 1 in 1950s
Ken Rosewall4 in 1950s, 1 in 1960s, 3 in 1970s
Martina Navratilova2 in 1970s, 15 in 1980s, 1 in 1990s
Serena Williams1 in 1990s, 10 in 2000s, 12 in 2010s
Novak Djokovic1 in 2000s, 15 in 2010s, 5 in 2020s
Rafael Nadal6 in 2000s, 13 in 2010s, 3 in 2020s

Also Read: Fernando Verdasco accepts doping ban, gets suspended for 2 months

First player to win 3+ Majors in three decades (all-time)

  • Rafael Nadal [6 in 2000s, 13 in 2010s, 3 in 2020s]

Novak Djokovic adds another star, becomes first man in history to win two majors seven times each

Numerous records have been set by Novak Djokovic throughout his career, including the most weeks at No. 1 in ATP rankings history, the most money won in ATP or WTA competitions, the only player to complete a Career Golden Masters (and he’s done it twice), and the most year-end No. 1 finishes in ATP competitions.

Throughout his career, his ability to consistently perform well on all surfaces has made him a threat at all four Grand Slams, and this year, after winning Wimbledon for the seventh time, he set a new record by becoming the first man in tennis history to have won two different majors seven or more times each. The nine-time Australian Open champion was one of only six players in tennis history to have won two different majors six times each before his most recent victory at the All England Club this year. He is now one of three players (one man and two women) to have won two different majors seven times each.

Check Out: ATP Finals: Rafael Nadal Ends the Season With A Win Over Casper Ruud

Players two win two different majors 7+ times each (all-time)

Helen Wills Moody8 Wimbledons, 7 US Opens
Serena Williams7 Australian Opens, 7 Wimbledons, 6 US Opens
Novak Djokovic9 Australian Opens, 7 Wimbledons

Given that Djokovic has won the last four Wimbledons, we may be on the verge of even more history. No one in the history of the sport has ever won two different majors eight or more times each.

Abhijeet Chatterjee
Abhijeet Chatterjeehttp://thesportslite.com
Live in the sunshine where you belong

Read More