Tuesday, November 29, 2022
HomeFootballFIFA releases the groups for FIFA Women's World Cup 2023

FIFA releases the groups for FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Earlier Today, Federation de International Futbol Association (FIFA) released the groups for the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023. The competition kicks off on July 20, 2023, with New Zealand taking on 1995 champions Norway.

The esteemed competition is a historic ideal in World Cup History. The tournament is hosted by Trans-Tasman Sea nations New Zealand and Australia. the World Cup of 2023 becomes the first time any senior FIFA Tournament visits Oceania. The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is the second World Cup to be hosted by two nations (the first was in 2002, by Japan and South Korea). Additionally, the World Cup is the first to happen across two confederations, Australia from AFC and New Zealand from OFC. The competition is already featuring five new debutants this time with a prospect of three more open.

Also Read: Mason Mount tells his life story with beautifully carved tattoos over his body

What is the Format of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023?

The World Cup takes place in the same format as Men’s. The 32 teams are divided into 8 groups of four each. The top two teams in every group will qualify for the next round, Round of 16. The winners of Round 16 move to the Quarter-Finals, and the sequence continues to Semi-Finals, and then the finals.

The World Cup is the first Women’s World Cup to feature 32 teams. Until 2019, The FIFA Women’s World Cup usually featured only 24 countries.

Which are the groups for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023?

A Group: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
B Group: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
C Group: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
D Group: England, playoff Group B winner, China, Denmark
E Group: USWNT, Netherlands, Vietnam, playoff Group A winner
F Group: France, Jamaica, Brazil, playoff Group C winner
G Group: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
H Group: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

Which teams can still qualify for the World Cup?

There remain three spots yet to be filled in the World Cup Schedule. The play-off groups set by FIFA are as follows:-

A Group of Inter-Confederation Playoffs: Portugal, Cameroon, or Thailand

B Group of Inter-Confederation Playoffs: Chile, Haiti, or Senegal

C Group of Inter-Confederation Playoffs: Chinese Taipei, Paraguay. Papua New Guinea, or Panama

Also Read: Iran: Turmoil, Turbulence, and a Possible World Cup Exit

For more news and information on the FIFA World Cup 2022, Keep reading The SportsLite

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Mohammed Bazim
Mohammed Bazimhttp://thesportslite.com
With a dream to be in the paddock living the life, Mohammed Bazim is a 19-year-old collegiate who spends his day watching old games, trying to learn more about his passion, Formula One. Hailing from Kerala, he considers himself to be a trivia aficionado. His lover passion for trivia does not end at Formula 1, it just begins there. Bazim loves to write about anything and everything related to Business, Sports, Fashion, and International Relations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Read More