HomeCricketMost Runs and Wickets in Asia cup

Most Runs and Wickets in Asia cup

The following article contains a list of the most runs scored and wickets taken in Asia cup. Along with numerous records held by individual players.

Before taking a look at the stats, let’s gain a little information about Asia Cup. The first Asia Cup was played in 1984 in Sharjah, Dubai. Where the Indian team was victorious and now has the most titles, 6 in totality. Initially being played in an ODI format, Asia Cup was played in a T-20 format for the first time in 2016 in Bangladesh. However, this time it will be conducted in an ODI format.

Return of Asia Cup

Asia Cup is the most awaited tournament, especially for cricket lovers all over the sub-continent. Even though it was postponed for almost two years due to the pandemic, Asia Cup is back with a treat for its fans, as the inaugural match is to be played between the arch-rivals INDIA and PAKISTAN. For the same fans, we have got a detailed list of the most runs scored and wickets taken in the Asia cup.

Read More: Top 5 fastest balls bowled in International cricket

Top Batting Stats

Sanath Jayasuriya in Asia Cup

The tally of most runs in Asia Cup (ODI format) is dominated by Sri Lankan legends. As the table is topped by veteran Sri Lankan player Sanath Jayasuriya. Jayasuriya has a total of 1220 runs in 24 ODI matches. Followed by other Sri Lankan legends: Kumar Sangakara, Arjuna Ranatunga and Mahela Jayawardene.

God of cricket himself is a part of this list, as Sachin Tendulkar ranks on number 3 with 971 runs in 21 innings. Interestingly, Tendulkar achieved his 100th international century mark in the same tournament. He scored it against the hosts Bangladesh in the 2012 edition.

Sachin Tendulkar' 100th century

Along with these legends, there are some active or most recently retired players to look up to for their batting stats. These players have played the Asia Cup in both the formats, ODI and T20. This tally includes- Pakistani batter Shoaib Malik with 907 in 21 innings. Followed by the Hitman, Rohit Sharma with 883 total runs in 21 innings, and Virat Kohli with 766 runs in 16 innings.

Also Read: Top Five Indian Players with Fastest Century in Test Cricket

Here’s a detailed list of players with the most runs, inclusive of both formats.

Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)1990-200825122053.04102.5263
Kumar Sangakara (SL)2004-201424107548.8684.5148
Sachin Tendulkar(IND)2000-20182197151.1085.4727
Shoaib Malik(PAK)2000-20182190764.7893.0234
Rohit Sharma(IND)2008-20182788343.0490.0117
Virat Kohli(IND)2010-20161676663.8399.6032
Arjuna Ranatunga(SL)1984-19971974157.0082.7916
Mushfiqur Rahim(BAN)2008-20182673932.1383.8822
MS Dhoni(IND)2008-20182469069.0091.5113
Mahela Jayawardene(SL)2000-20142867429.3087.6407

Top Bowling Stats

Likewise, the bowling stats are also dominated by legendary Sri Lankan players. As veteran Sri Lankan, Yorker master, fast baller, Lasith Malinga leads the way, with most wickets in Asia Cup History.

Malinga on the top of Asia Cup history

Being a part of six editions of Asia Cup, Malinga claims a record of 33 wickets in 15 matches. With an amazing economy of 4.70and an average of 18.84. Impressively he has also left his mark by taking 2 four-wicket hauls and 3 five-wicket hauls. A dream record of every baller, isn’t it?

Meanwhile, another Sri Lankan legendary baller Muthiah Muralidaran claims the second position. Having picked 30 wickets in 24 matches at an impressive economy of 3.75 and an average of 28.83.

Check Out : Top Five Indian Players with Fastest Fifty in Test Cricket

Sri Lankan Dominance Again

The tally for the top ten highest wicket-takers includes a total of 5 Sri Lankan players. With lone Pakistani baller Saeed Akmal, who has a total of 25 wickets in just 12 matches.

The top Indian legends to be featured in the tally are, Ravindra Jadeja and Irfan Pathan. Both registering a total of 22 wickets in 18 and 12 innings, respectively.

Here’s a detailed list of the top ten wicket-takers in Asia Cup history:

Lasith Malinga(SL)2004-2018153318.844.7023
Muthiah Muralidaran(SL)1995-2010243028.833.7511
Ajantha Mendis(SL)2008-201482610423.9822
Saeed Ajmal(PAK)2008-2014122519.404.2100
Shakib Al Hasan(BAN)2010-2018182430.415.0510
Chaminda Vaas(SL)1995-2008192327.784.1900
Mashrafe Mortoza(BAN)2008-2018242342.695.8200
Ravindra Jadeja(IND)2010-2018182226.754.5620
Irfan Pathan(IND)2004-2012122227.505.5410
Sanath Jayasuriya(SL)1990-2008252230.314.4810

This detailed information about the most runs scored and wickets taken in Asia cup history significantly shows the dominance of Sri Lankan legends in the Asia Cup.

Prachi Rajan
Prachi Rajanhttp://thesportslite.com
A literature nerd excelling at cricket who also wants you to look at the world with her eyes so that you could witness the beauty her eyes behold.

Read More