HomeCricket2024 ICC Women's T20 World Cup: Teams, Venue, Format, Predictions, and More

2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup: Teams, Venue, Format, Predictions, and More

The 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is the eighth edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. The best cricketers from around the world have the chance to compete on the biggest stage and represent their nations with pride.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) will host the event, including 10 teams, from February 10 through February 26, 2024. South Africa, which successfully hosted the first-ever Under 19 World Cup a month back, is hosting their first Women’s T20 World Cup.

The first edition of the competition took place in England in 2009. Since then, seven editions of the competition have taken place in seven different nations, with Australia emerging as the most successful team after taking home five championships. Australia is the defending champion after beating India in the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Also Read: WIPL 2024: Women’s IPL Teams And Owners

2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Details


The ten teams of the World Cup are divided into two groups. The top two of each group will advance to the semi-finals. The winners of each semi-final challenge in the final to find the champion.

South Africa advanced to the 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup as hosts. Bangladesh and Ireland qualified from the qualifying tournament. The rest seven earned automatic qualification

Group A

Australia1Champions (2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, 2020)
Bangladesh9First Round (2014, 2018, 2020)
New Zealand3Runners-up (2009, 2010)
South Africa5Semi-finals (2014, 2020)
Sri Lanka8First Round (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2020)

Group B

England2Champions (2009)
India4Runner-up (2020)
Ireland10First Round (2020)
Pakistan7First Round (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2020)
West Indies6Champions (2016)

The Venues

The 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup takes place in three different stadiums across South Africa. The Stadiums are Boland Park, Newlands Cricket Ground, and St George’s Park.

The Newlands Cricket Ground, located in Capetown, hosts 12 matches including the knockout games. The Boland Park in Paarl and St George’s Park in Gqbarha host 6 and 5 matches respectively.


Click here for the complete fixture of the 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.


Australia is the tournament’s favorite. Having won five out of seven, Australia has a rich legacy left behind. The likes of Meg Lanning, Alyssa Healy, and Ellyse Perry among others boost squad depth.

English Women are coming into the World Cup after thrashing West Indies 5-0 in the latest T20 series. They have good depth and a strong team that can win the coveted trophy. India won the U-19 World Cup that happened a week back in South Africa. It would be a mistake to write the Blue Tigress off as they also boast a viciously strong team.

With all being said, Australian Women are most likely to win the tournament.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Mohammed Bazim
Mohammed Bazimhttp://thesportslite.com
Mohammed Bazim S is a final-year Journalism student with a deep passion for sports reporting. At the age of 19, he is already making strides towards his dream of becoming a paddock reporter and rinkside correspondent. With a particular love for ice hockey and Formula 1, Mohammed aspires to capture the excitement of these sports through immersive reporting. His enthusiasm, coupled with his dedication to honing his skills, sets him on a path towards bringing the thrilling world of sports to life for fans worldwide.

Read More