HomeCricketWIPL 2024: Women's IPL Teams and Owners

WIPL 2024: Women’s IPL Teams and Owners

The IPL for women uses an auction format to select players from a pool. The WIPL 2024 player auction will take place the following month.

The inaugural Women’s Premier League, which will feature five teams, is anticipated to take place in Mumbai in March 2024. Like the IPL for men, the IPL for women uses an auction format to select players from a pool. The WIPL 2024 player auction will take place the following month, and on January 25, BCCI is likely to announce the names of the FIVE Women’s IPL franchises.

The Chennai Super Kings have made the decision to skip the Women’s IPL. After the Men’s IPL, the Women’s IPL is now the second-most expensive cricket league. Eight franchises out of the ten men’s IPL teams have expressed interest in owning a team in the first Women’s IPL.

Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals, and Gujarat Titans are the franchises that will submit bids for the women’s IPL teams.

So let’s have a look at the WIPL 2024 Teams and Owners

The Women’s Premier League will be the name of the franchise-owned T20 league for female cricketers in India, according to a statement made on Wednesday by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which revealed that it had received a combined bid of Rs 4669.99 crore for five teams.

The bid winners were also disclosed by the BCCI. The team from Ahmedabad will be owned by Adani Sportsline Pvt Ltd after receiving a huge bid of Rs 1289 crore.

Mumbai Indians, through Indiawin Sports Pvt Ltd, will be the franchise’s owner after making an offer of Rs 912.99 crores. A franchise was also purchased by Royal Challengers Bangalore for a bid of Rs 901 billion. Another franchise was purchased for 810 crores by JSW GMR Cricket Pvt Ltd, which also co-owns the Delhi Capitals of the Indian Premier League. A franchise with its headquarters in Lucknow is owned by Capri Global Holdings Pvt Ltd for 757 crores. Read More: India becomes the no.1 ODI team after winning the series against New Zealand

Women’s IPL 2024 Broadcasting Rights

The first women’s IPL had its global media rights for TV and digital broadcast purchased by Viacom 18 under a five-year deal starting in 2024 for a sum of INR 951 crore. In India, the Sports18 TV channel and Jio Cinema app will both air the WIPL 2024 Auction.

Women’s IPL 2024 Format

The Round Robin format with Group System and Playoffs format will be used in the Women’s IPL 2024. Details of the Women’s IPL 2024 Format are as follows:

  • Each of the five participating teams will play the other twice, making a total of 20 league games.
  • The second and third-placed teams will face off in the elimination game.
  • The winner of the elimination round will advance to the Women’s IPL 2024 championship game as the second finalist.

March will continue to be the window for the WIPL, according to the BCCI. The WIPL may have “33-34” matches starting in the 2026 season, but the BCCI has not provided any additional information about the tournament’s format.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Niladri Biswas
Niladri Biswashttp://thesportslite.com
Niladri is a football enthusiast and die-hard fan of Liverpool FC. He is currently living his passion through writing about his favorite sport at The Sportslite. He sees himself as a renowned football journalist in the future.

Read More