Sunday, May 28, 2023
HomeCricketWho won man of the match in Ind vs WI 3rd T20I,...

Who won man of the match[MOM] in Ind vs WI 3rd T20I, Today?

The Indian team is on a new high after the South African lows. The team which found it difficult to win even a single game in South Africa has now clean swept the West Indies team in both ODI and T20I formats. With another collective team effort, India beat West Indies by 17 runs in the 3rd T20I in Kolkata. While Suryakumar scored a glamorous fifty, Harshal Patel grabbed three West Indian wickets. Venkatesh Iyer had a brilliant all-around show in Kolkata today. Let’s check who won the man of the match[MoM] in Ind vs WI 3rd T20I.

Who won the man of the match[MoM] in Ind vs WI 3rd T20I, Today?

Suryakumar yadav

Suryakumar Yadav was selected as the player of the match for his mind-blowing 31 ball-65 runs. In a contrast, he hit just a single four and as many as seven sixes. His partnership with Venkatesh was very crucial for India at that point in time. The Mumbai Indians’ middle-order batsman displayed a batting masterclass as he hit humongous sixes all-around the part. Especially, with his shots behind the square, SuryaKumar was brilliant. For his extraordinary batting in all three games of the series, Suryakumar was also declared the player of the series.

“Just wanted to replicate what I did in the first game. Needed someone to stay there after Rohit got out and get the team to a defendable total. We had a long chat in the team meeting as to how we are going to react under immense pressure and it came out very well. I just try to keep things simple. Being a little harsh on yourself in the nets, don’t hit every ball wildly and have some quality sessions. Excited for the next series.”

Suryakumar Yadav, Man of the match and Man of the series

Also Read: Melbourne Renegades Sponsors List 2022: Principal, Major, Platinum, Official, Community and more


Earlier during the toss, the West Indian captain, Kieron Pollard, decided to field first. Both the teams made bulky changes to their playing 11 as four new faces stepped onto the field for both India and WI. Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant were not available for selection while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal were rested for the sake of giving others a chance. While Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, and Shardul Thakur returned to the team, Avesh Khan made his international debut. For the West Indies, Brandon King, Akeal Hosein, Odean Smith, and Sheldon Cottrell missed the game. Instead of them, Shai Hope, Dominic Drakes, Hayden Walsh, and Fabian Allen were drafted into the playing 11.

First Innings

Suryakumar yadav and venkatesh iyer - an of the match[MoM] in Ind vs WI 3rd T20I

After being asked to bat first, India did not have the best of starts. A scratchy Ruturaj Gaikwad was sent back to the pavilion by Holder on a score of 4 runs. Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer tried to pull things back for India as the two added more than 50 runs together. But Ishan could not accelerate to his potential and eventually fell prey to Roston Chase at 34. Captain Rohit Sharma came out to bat at 4 but he could not get going today as he could manage just 7 runs off 15 deliveries.

India were in deep trouble when Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer united on the pitch. As the West Indians thought they were in full control, Venkatesh and Yadav wreaked havoc on them. The duo added 91 runs for India in just 37 balls and took the team to a huge total of 184 runs. Knowing that dew would play its part, India desperately wanted a score above 160 to fancy their chances, but Surya and Iyer helped India reach a safer total.

Second Innings

Nicholas pooran and rovman powell- an of the match[MoM] in Ind vs WI 3rd T20I

Just like India, West Indies did not start well. The Caribbean team lost both their openers in the first three overs. None of Kyle Mayers and Shai Hope could cross the double-digit mark. Rovman Powell, then, came out to bat above Pollard and started destroying the Indian bowling line-up. Along with Pooran, he added 47 runs to the team total in just 25 deliveries. But after Harshal dismissed Powell, the West Indian inning derailed. However, Romario Shepherd and Nicholas Pooran tried their level best to chase the total down. But the continuously increasing pressure undid Pooran and Romario too got out in the 19th over to Harshal. Eventually, WI were left with 23 runs to chase in the last over with no designated batsman left. Shardul Thakur easily defended those runs and India won the match by 17 runs.

Also Read: Sydney Sixers Sponsors 2022: Principal, Major, Community, Charity, And More

Match Summary

India vs West Indies, 3rd T20I, Eden Gardens, Kolkata

India: 182/5 (Suryakumar Yadav 65, Venkatesh Iyer 35*; Roston Chase 1/23)

West Indies: 167/9 (Nicholas Pooran 61, Romario Shepherd 29; Harshal Patel 3/22)

India won the match by 17 runs.

Anirudh Garg
Anirudh Garg
Cricket nerd who loves learning and writing about the sport.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More