Friday, March 1, 2024
HomeCricketWho Won Man of the Match in Ind Vs SL 3rd T20I,...

Who Won Man of the Match in Ind Vs SL 3rd T20I, Today?

India has been on a winning streak. Sri Lanka was looking forward to preventing a whitewash, captain Shanaka did all he could. But, the form that India is currently in, and the intent that each and every member of the Indian team is showing, didn’t let that happen. After winning both the ODI and T20I series against West Indies recently. India also won the 3-match T20I series against Sri Lanka by 3-0. All Sri Lanka could win was a toss, and they decided to bat first. India chased down the required 147 runs, winning the match by 6 wickets. With the win, India equaled the most consecutive wins (12) in T20Is. Check out who won the Man of the Match in Ind Vs SL 3rd T20I, today?

Sri Lanka made 2 changes as Janith Liyanage and Jeffrey Vandersay made it to the Playing XI. While, India, having already won the series made 4 changes, giving Bumrah, Yuzi, and Bhuvi rest. The fourth change was Ishan Kishan as he suffered a concussion after being hit on the helmet in the first match. Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammad Siraj, and Avesh Khan were the replacements.

Who Won Man of the Match in Ind Vs SL 3rd T20I?

Who Won Man of the Match in Ind Vs SL 3rd T20I?

Shreyas Iyer has made a great comeback as he was given chance in this series. Iyer went on to be the leading run-scorer in the three-match T20I series, scoring 204 runs. Moreover, he had smashed 7 sixes and 20 fours. Also, he managed to remain unbeaten in all the 3 games, finishing the innings with his sheer class. In the 3rd T20, Shreyas scored 73 runs off 45 balls, hitting a total of 9 fours and a six. Because of this excellent performance, Shreyas Iyer was named the Man of the Match. In addition, Iyer was also picked as the Player of the Series for his exceptional performance. Iyer became the only second player with most runs remaining unbeaten through a T20I series, Warner being the first with 207 runs.

“All three knocks were special, but yesterday’s – coming in at a crucial moment, I’d pick that. Only require one ball to get into form as long as you’re keeping your eyes on the ball and playing it on its merit. The wicket was little two paced today compared to yesterday. Was playing on the merit. Outfield is so fast, just had to hit gaps. Been a rollercoster journey after my injury. Real test of you is during rehab sessions.”

Shreyas Iyer, Man of the Match and Player of the series

First Innings


Mohammad Siraj who was given his first chance in the series bowled Gunathilaka in the 1st over itself. This gave India a good start and slowed down runs drastically. Later, in the very next over Avesh Khan managed to send Nissanka back, bowling a wicket-maiden. Charith Asalanka was Avesh’s second victim for the day, scoring only 4 runs, he walked back to the pavilion. Three early wickets slowed down Sri Lanka’s innings, and they managed to put only 18 runs on board in the powerplay. Dinesh Chandimal and Dasun Shanaka brought some spark in Sri Lankan batting. As they seemed to establish a partnership, Harshal Patel ended Chandimal’s inning, he scored 25 important runs for his team.

Yet another match where skipper Shanaka single-handedly tried to lead his team to a winning position. Although Shanaka seemed to struggle a bit earlier, he reached his top gear and scored back-to-back boundaries. Shanaka smashed an unbeaten 74 off just 38 deliveries, hitting a total of 9 fours and 2 sixes. Karunaratne also contributed 12 runs to the team’s total. Skipper Shanaka’s knock led the team to a respectable total. Sri Lanka had set a target of 147 for India.

Also read: Players With Double Hat Trick In T20I Cricket History

Second Innings


As Ishan missed the 3rd T20I, Sanju Samson got a chance to open India’s batting alongside Rohit. Once again Chameera dismissed Rohit Sharma, for the 6th time in 9 innings. Rohit scored 5 runs in his 125th T20I. The in-form batsmen Shreyas Iyer walked in, carrying the confidence from the previous 2 matches. Sanju and Shreyas were scoring runs for the team at a good pace. But, Sanju Samson was tricked by Karunaratne as he changed his length. Sanju Samson scored 18 off 12. Deepak Hooda got to ba for the first time in the series. He very well synced his game with Iyer, who was hitting well-placed and timed shots.

But on Kumara’s brilliant delivery, Deepak Hooda was bowled at 21 off 16 balls. Soon, Venkatesh Iyer’s wicket followed. However, it didn’t affect India as Ravindra Jadeja and Shreyas Iyer were still on the crease. Shreyas Iyer remained not out, smashing 73 runs including 9 fours and a six. India’s best and the most reliable all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja played yet another quick cameo scoring 22 off 15. Reaching the target within 17 overs, India won the match by 6 wickets and the series by 3-0. This was not just another win, but winning this match, India equaled Afghanistan in the record of most consecutive (12) wins in T20Is.

Match Summary

India Vs Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I, HP Cricket Association Stadium, Dharmshala

Sri Lanka: 146/5 (Dasun Shanaka 74*, Dinesh Chandimal 25*; Avesh Khan 23/2)

India: 148/4 (Shreyas Iyer 73*, Ravindra Jadeja 22*; Lahiru Kumara 39/2)

India won the match by 6 wickets.

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.

Read More