HomeCricketTeam India captain Rohit Sharma tests positive for Covid-19; unlikely to play...

Team India captain Rohit Sharma tests positive for Covid-19; unlikely to play 5th Test against England

Rohit Sharma only managed to score 248 runs in 14 matches in IPL 2022. This is the first time that he has not scored a single half-century in an IPL edition since his debut in 2008.

With Indian opener KL Rahul missing the England tour due to an injury India was already looking for a replacement to open alongside Rohit. Now, skipper Rohit Sharma tests positive for Covid-19. Moreover, the 5th rescheduled Test will be played starting July 1st. Although Rohit’s availability for the Test is in doubt, he is likely to be available by the ODIs. However, it is a huge blow for India as both first-choice openers are unavailable. KL Rahul has flown to Germany to undergo surgery. With Rohit likely to miss the 5th Test, there are doubts about the captaincy. KL Rahul was the designated deputy. However, with Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, and Chesteshwar Pujara in the squad, India doesn’t look short of openers.

Team India captain Rohit Sharma tests positive for Covid-19

“Team India captain Mr. Rohit Sharma has tested positive for COVID-19 following a Rapid Antigen Test (RAT) conducted on Saturday. He is currently in isolation at the team hotel and is under the care of the BCCI Medical Team. An RT-PCR test will be conducted on Sunday to ascertain his CT value.”

BCCI Statement

Fans slam Rishabh Pant for violating Covid rules, was seen clicking pictures with fans

On day 3 of the ongoing warmup match, Rohit Sharma did not take the field. After the day’s play was done with, in Leicestershire, an announcement was made asking Indian members to not click pictures or sign autographs for fans. However, a video of Rishabh Pant violating the guidelines is going viral. He didn’t pay much heed to the announcement even when a member of the team has contracted the covid-19 virus.

India’s Test squad:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc) Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadavhttp://thesportslite.com
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.

Read More