Wednesday, October 4, 2023
HomeCricketIndia's Squad for WTC Final 2023!

India’s Squad for WTC Final 2023!

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed India’s Squad for World Test -Championship (WTC) Final 2023. The Oval will be hosting the WTC Final from 7-11 June. The formal period for making modifications is now ended, and any future changes must be approved by the Event Technical Committee.

About WTC

This is the second edition of the WTC, which emerged in 2019 to provide context for the game’s longest format. New Zealand won the first tournament, defeating India by eight wickets in the final in Southampton.

The victors of the WTC Final will get $ 1.6 million, while the losers will receive $ 800,000.

Also Read: ICC to abolish soft-signal from 2023 WTC Final

India’s Squad for WTC Final 2023

Squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, KS Bharat (wk), Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (Wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadakt, Umesh Yadav

Reserves: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav

Also Read: Yashasvi Jaiswal replaces Ruturaj as backup opener for WTC Final

Squad Review & Probable Playing XI

The Indian team is struggling with injury concerns for their main players. Some prominent players such as Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, Rishab Pant & Shreyas Iyer will miss the WTC Final owing to various injuries. The absence of these players has been a brilliant opportunity for some newbies and senior-pros as well. Ajinkya Rahane, who had a terrific IPL season, makes his return to test squad after 15 months. KS Bharat is most likely to play as a keeper-batter. He got a consistent run in BGT 2023 where he amassed 101 runs in 6 innings at an average of 20.20. Overall It is a decent squad but the onus would lie on Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill who have been in terrific form this year. Shami and Siraj have been devasting with new ball in the recent IPL. The duo would be essential for India with the ball in seam-friendly conditions.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (wk), Shardul Thakur/R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Chaitanya Kale
Chaitanya Kale
Chaitanya is an enthusiastic mind, hailing from the small town of Indore. He is currently pursuing MBA in Sports Management from Symbiosis Institute. He has a great passion for sports even though he doesn't play any game professionally. he is passionate to contribute his best to sports industry through his knowledge, skills and interest.

Read More