HomeCricketCricket Australia releases the Australian T20I Squad for 2022 Men's T20 World...

Cricket Australia releases the Australian T20I Squad for 2022 Men’s T20 World Cup

Australia defeated New Zealand in the final to clinch the ICC T20I World Cup 2021

Melbourne: Cricket Australia released their 15-member Australian T20I squad for the upcoming Men’s World Cup. The Kangaroos will be attempting a total defense in their home as they eye their second title. The Australians defeated the continental rivals New Zealand to clinch the last title at Dubai.

Aaron Finch will lead Australia for the second consecutive T20I World Cup. The Victorian is also the most capped Australian player in T20 Internationals. He has played 92 matches, one more than David Warner, and captained 65 of them. Finch has led his team to victory in 35, giving him a winning percentage of 56.34.

The addition of Tim David is the most exciting call-up. The Singapore-born all rounder made news early in 2022 when he was grabbed at IPL Auction at record-fee. The 26-year-old has played in 11 T20Is where he scored above 450 runs and has five wickets. On his addition in the Australian T20I squad, George Bailey said that David is establishing his names in major leagues around the globe. He adds that Tim is an exceptionally talented player and will add a batting depth for the team.

Tim David replaces leg spinner Mitchell Swepson from the world cup winning side of 2021. George Bailey explains, UAE required spinners while Australia prefers batters and batting depth is important.

Australia competes in the 2022 World Cup in Group 1 alongside Afghanistan, England, New Zealand, the winner of Group A and the runner up of Group B.

Also Read: Hardik Pandya rises to career-best spot in ICC T20I all-rounder rankings

Australian T20I squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Batter: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith

All-Rounder: Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Mitchell Marsh, Pat Cummins

Wicket-Keeper: Matthew Wade

Bowler: Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson

Also Read: How India and Pakistan can clash thrice in Asia Cup 2022? Analysing the possibilities

Mohammed Bazim
Mohammed Bazimhttp://thesportslite.com
Mohammed Bazim S is a final-year Journalism student with a deep passion for sports reporting. At the age of 19, he is already making strides towards his dream of becoming a paddock reporter and rinkside correspondent. With a particular love for ice hockey and Formula 1, Mohammed aspires to capture the excitement of these sports through immersive reporting. His enthusiasm, coupled with his dedication to honing his skills, sets him on a path towards bringing the thrilling world of sports to life for fans worldwide.

Read More