HomeCricketAustralia Squads for Sri Lanka tour announced

Australia Squads for Sri Lanka tour announced

Australian cricketers will be touring Sri Lanka for 7 weeks in June this year.

Andrew McDonald has taken up as the full-time head coach of the Australian side. His first tour after taking the charge will be to Sri Lanka. And the team set-up is going to see some major changes. Cricket Australia has announced its Squads for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour. Furthermore, the teams will be playing 3 T20Is, 5 ODIs, and 2 Tests starting on June 7. Although there were rumors that Glenn Maxwell will be playing Tests on this tour. But he remains a white-ball player.

Pat Cummins will be leading the Test team. While Aaron Finch will be leading the T20I and ODI squads. Earlier this year Australia had a good Test leg on the Pakistan tour. They won the WTC Test series. Marcus Harris was not named in the Test squad, losing his position to Usman Khwaja. Moreover, an Australia A team will be touring Sri Lanka as well. Test skipper Pat Cummins will miss the T20I series to prepare for the ODI and Tests. Whereas, spin lead Adam Zampa will miss the tour because of the birth of his first child.

Australia Squads for Sri Lanka tour announced

Australian Test Squad

 Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner 

Australian ODI Squad

 Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australian T20I Squad

 Aaron Finch (c) Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner, Matthew Wade

Australia A squad 

Sean Abbott, Scott Boland, Peter Handscomb, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nic Maddinson, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, Mark Steketee

“It’s incredibly exciting to have an Australia A component which offers the further flexibility and opportunity for players to be available for and cross over into all squads. That could be from a Test or white-ball preparation perspective or an opportunity to impress at an international level. This is the first time a tour of this scale has been possible since the Ashes in 2019.”

George Bailey, Chief selector

Australia has a total of 3 international tours in 2022. They had a successful tour to Pakistan last month, winning the Test series and sole T20I. After touring Sri Lanka in June-July, the Australian team will be touring India in October for the Border-Gavaskar series.

Australia tour of Sri Lanka- Fixtures

7 June: First T20I, Colombo
8 June: Second T20I, Colombo
11 June: Third T20I, Kandy
14 June: First ODI, Kandy
16 June: Second ODI, Kandy
19 June: Third ODI, Colombo
21 June: Fourth ODI, Colombo
24 June: Fifth ODI, Colombo
29 June-July 3: First Test, Galle
8-12 July: Second Test, Galle

Sanskruti Yadav
Sanskruti Yadavhttp://thesportslite.com
Sanskruti, is a journalist in making, an avid reader, and a cricket enthusiast. Her passion for cricket and writing is what brings her here.

Read More