HomeFootballAfrica Cup of Nations 2024: Format, Groups, Teams, Venues and Everything You...

Africa Cup of Nations 2024: Format, Groups, Teams, Venues and Everything You Need To Know

As the anticipation builds for the 34th edition of the African Cup of Nations (AFCON), football enthusiasts around the globe await the kickoff of one of the rising tournaments.

Set to be hosted by Ivory Coast, this edition marks the nation’s second time hosting the competition, the first being in 1984. Initially slated for a summer spectacle, the tournament has undergone a significant date change. The dates have been shifted to 13 January – 11 February 2024 due to adverse weather conditions in Ivory Coast. Albeit the date changes, They have retained its original title for sponsorship reasons.

Known officially as the TotalEnergies 2024 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON promises to showcase Africa’s finest teams in an electrifying competition. In this comprehensive article, we delve into everything one needs to know about AFCON 2024. The thrilling format, the teams vying for glory, and the groups of death and pieces of cake.

Also Read: AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2024: Format, Groups, Schedule, Teams, Venues!

Africa Cup of Nations 2024: Everything You Need To Know


Twenty Four Teams are divided into six groups of four teams each. A round-robin tournament will take place in every group. All the teams will play 3 games.

The Top Two Teams from each group directly qualify for the R16. In addition to the 12 teams, 4 Best Third-Placed Team will join in the R16.

The winners of R16 move to the Quarter Finals and successively move to Semi Finals and Final.

Groups and Teams 

The upcoming AFCON 2024 will witness a familiar lineup of teams, with no debutant nations for the first time since the 2015 edition. A total of 17 teams that participated in the 2021 tournament are set to make a return, contributing to the continuity of competitive football on the African continent.

Several nations, including DR Congo, South Africa, Angola, Namibia, and Tanzania, are marking their comeback after missing out on the 2021 edition. Zambia is set to return to the tournament after an absence of almost nine years. Meanwhile, Mozambique makes its fifth appearance following a 14-year hiatus from Africa’s premier football event.

However, not all teams from the previous edition will be making a return. Comoros, which made its debut in 2021, failed to qualify, and Zimbabwe faced disqualification due to FIFA’s suspension. Additionally, Sudan, Malawi, Gabon, Sierra Leone, and Ethiopia did not secure qualification for AFCON 2024.

A: Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Nigeria

B: Cape Verde, Egypt, Ghana, Mozambique

C: Cameroon, Gambia, Guinea, Senegal

D: Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Mauritania

E: Mali, Namibia, South Africa, Tunisia

F: DR Congo, Morocco, Tanzania, Zambia


Abidjan Bouaké
Alassane Ouattara Stadium Felix Houphouet Boigny Stadium Stade de la Paix
Capacity: 60,000 Capacity: 33,000[31] Capacity: 40,000
Korhogo San-Pédro Yamoussoukro
Amadou Gon Coulibaly Stadium Laurent Pokou Stadium Charles Konan Banny Stadium
Capacity: 20,000 Capacity: 20,000 Capacity: 20,000

Mohammed Bazim
Mohammed Bazimhttp://thesportslite.com
Mohammed Bazim S is a final-year Journalism student with a deep passion for sports reporting. At the age of 19, he is already making strides towards his dream of becoming a paddock reporter and rinkside correspondent. With a particular love for ice hockey and Formula 1, Mohammed aspires to capture the excitement of these sports through immersive reporting. His enthusiasm, coupled with his dedication to honing his skills, sets him on a path towards bringing the thrilling world of sports to life for fans worldwide.

Read More