HomeCricketIndia Tour of New Zealand 2022: Skippers Hardik Pandya and Kane Williamson...

India Tour of New Zealand 2022: Skippers Hardik Pandya and Kane Williamson Reveal The Trophy in a Uniquely Fun Way

The T20 World Cup has wrapped up well and good, good for England of course. And it’s time to move on from the World Cup fever. Kicking off the post-WC season, team India has reached New Zealand for a white-ball bilateral series. India is there with a seemingly young team captained by Hardik Pandya. Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Virat Kohli are at rest for the tour. And youngsters like Shubman Gill, and Ishan Kishan are off to New Zealand to assist Pandya.

The series is set to commence on the 18th of November in Wellington with the first T20I. Both the captains, Hardik Pandya and Kane Williamson, however, engaged in a fun activity ahead of the series. The duo rode on a crocodile bike in Wellington in their quest to reveal the Trophy for the series. Moreover, they also engaged in media interaction as they explained their vision for the series.

Also Read: IPL 2024: List of all the players retained and released by Chennai Super Kings

Hardik Pandya Talks About the Young Indian Squad In New Zealand

Hardik Pandya expressed how this series will help youngsters gain exposure to their game. “Absolutely. As you said, a lot of the main guys are not here but at the same time, the players who are here have also been playing for India for a good amount of 1-1.5 years, even they have had ample chances, and enough time in international cricket to express themselves and showcase what they have. Very excited for them, new bunch and new energy,” skipper Hardik Pandya said.

The series has given chances to many promising prospects for the future. Shubman Gill, for one, has earned his maiden T20I call-up after a string of impressive performances in overseas and home ODIs this year. Moreover, the fan-favorite wicket-keeper batter Sanju Samson is also back in the squad. Additionally, all-rounder Washington Sundar is back in the scheme of things after an injury-laden hiatus.

India’s T20I squad for New Zealand Tour: Hardik Pandya (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), W Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umran Malik.

Ayushi Singh
Ayushi Singhhttp://thesportslite.com
Ayushi is a Journalism and Mass Communication undergraduate. An avid sports enthusiast, with an inclination towards Cricket. Likes to be well informed, as she likes to be well read. Will be found indulging in a book if not in India's 2011 WC win highlights.

Read More