HomeCricketHaryana clinch maiden Under-19 Cooch Behar title after 22 years

Haryana clinch maiden Under-19 Cooch Behar title after 22 years

Haryana also clinched Vinoo Mankad Trophy one-dayers by defeating Maharashtra last year.

Haryana won the Under-19 Cooch Behar first-class domestic tournament after 22 years, defeating the favorites Mumbai in the finals at the Eden Gardens on Tuesday.

Haryana Complete a Rare Double

The Haryana cricket won the Cooch Behar trophy against Mumbai after the match ended in a draw. Haryana won the trophy based on a decisive first-innings lead of 134 runs. This win also underlines the dominance of Haryana at the youth level as they achieved a rare double of winning the Cooch Behar trophy as well as the Vinoo Mankad Trophy one-dayers by defeating Maharashtra by six wickets in October last year.

Also Read: BCCI postpones Ranji Trophy, women’s T20 League due to rising Covid-19 cases

The last day of the play was affected by the rain, Haryana scored 211-5 in the second innings thanks to Under-19 batsman Dinesh Bana (62 not out) and wicketkeeper batsman Sarvesh Rohilla (28 not out). The game was called off after tea and Haryana was rewarded the win. For Mumbai, the only ray of hope was Suryans Shedge who claimed 3 for 86 while pacers Prince Badiani and Arjun Dani as they took one wicket each.

Haryana Coach Pankaj Thakur has the credited the system for the growth and success of the team. He has credited the system for producing champion players from the state.

“It’s a result of a proper system in place — a fair selection process, a dedicated camp that results in producing champion players, Thaku

Thakur told PTI.

Thakur also talked about the team combination of Haryana team and how it hepled them win the trophy.

“We are a team of allrounders, everyone bats and also bowls, not just part-timers but serious bowling like Shandilya.”

Thakur said after winning the Cooch Behar Trophy.

Mumbai captain Musheer Khan won the man of the tournament award for his all round performance (670 runs and 32 wickets) in the tournament.

Brief Scores:

Haryana 437 & 211-5 (Dinesh Bana 62 not out, Suryansh Shedge 3-86) beat Mumbai 303 Angkrish Raghuvanshi 97, Garv Sangwan 5-41)

Saurabh Bisht
Saurabh Bishthttp://thesportslite.com
A cricket enthusiast/fan and wants to cover cricket all over the world, hobbies are listening music and reading novels. Other interests include watching profesional wrestling and currently studying from Panjab Univerity, Chandigarh

Read More