Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeCricket10 Unknown facts about IPL which nobody knows

10 Unknown facts about IPL which nobody knows

The biggest T20 cricket league after Australia’s Big Bash league, IPL has successfully completed 14 dazzling seasons. On this journey of accomplishing these tournaments many records were made and broken. Though some records still remain unbreakable and have become facts. Indian Premier League is not just about the winning team but various other figures and element which makes the whole event so widely cherished. From 2008 to 2021, IPL has upgraded to a next level and bring in a surprising component. Many cricket and IPL followers claim to know everything about the incredible T20 cricket event but do they really do. Here are 10 Unknown facts about IPL which nobody knows:

10 Unknown facts about IPL which nobody knows

10. The only overseas cricketer to get the emerging player award is Mustafizur Rahman

The emerging player award which originated as the “Best under-19 player” in 2008, after several changes got its name in 2014. The award is given to the player with less than 5 test matches, 20 ODIs and 25 IPL matches at the start of the season. The only overseas player to receive this award in 14 IPL seasons is Bangladesh’s left arm medium-fast Mustafizur Rahman. Playing for SRH in the year 2016, Mustafizur played 16 matches and crashed 17 wickets.

9. Chennai Super Kings has won the fair play award of the season six times.

Every IPL season, the fair play award is given to that team which displays the best conduct, discipline and team spirit. Umpires rate the teams out of 10 on the basis of these parameters. The four times IPL winner CSK has received the fair play award 6 times in IPL. They have won it consecutively for three years from 2013 to 2015.

Also Read : Top 10 Most Expensive Players in IPL History

8. The most number of dot balls bowled in IPL is by Harbhajan Singh.

In a T20 league some bowlers intend to take wickets while some try to remain economical in the crucial overs. It’s the dot balls which irritates the batter and lowers the team total. The record of bowling the most dot balls in IPL matches is held by the great Indian former off-spinner Harbhajan Singh. In a brilliant career of 163 IPL matches, Harbhajan has bowled 1268 dot balls.

7. The most number of man of the match awards is backed by AB De Villiers.

The man of the match award goes to that star player who has contributed the most and turns the match to his team’s side. Several players have received this award several times in their IPL career. Leading the list is non-other than the former South-African legend AB De Villiers. In his 184 IPL matches, ABD has earned 24 man of the match awards.

6. The team with the most toss win in IPL is Mumbai Indians.

Winning the toss may be a fortune or not. But most of the time winning the toss and choosing according to the field conditions goes in favor of the winning team. When it comes to winning IPL tosses it is the five time winners Mumbai Indians who lead the chart. Out of the 217 IPL matches played, Mumbai Paltan have won 125 tosses.

5. Longest winning streak by a team in IPL is held by Kolkata Knight Riders.

The record of the longest winning streak or most consecutive wins is held by two-times IPL champion Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR won 10 matches at a stretch in the year 2014-15 under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. They won 9 matches in the second title-winning season in 2014 and the tenth match was the opener of the 2015 season against Mumbai Indians.

4. The team to have both the highest total and lowest total in an IPL match is Royal Challengers Bangalore.

What makes a T20 match riveting is a high total set by the batting team. On the other side what makes an IPL match dull is when the batting team puts up a low total. And by chance the record of both highest and lowest IPL total belongs to the same team. Yes it is RCB who holds both the record. Batting first on 23rd April 2013, RCB put up a massive total of 263 for 5 against Pune Warriors in Bengaluru. Playing against KKR, batting second RCB were all out for just 49 runs in 9.4 runs on the 23rd April in 2017 in Kolkata.

Also Read : 5 best all-rounders in iPL of all time

3. The only team who has never had an overseas captain is Chennai super kings.

The stature of an international accomplished cricketer of MSD can be determined by the fact that he remains CSK’s captain till date. Among other factors, a team’s success lies in its captain’s leadership skills. The captain’s fine judgment, cool temperament and sound strategy making is what a team requires to win. Other than CSK all IPL teams have changed their captain at some point of time. Yes Dhoni has captained CSK for 12 seasons and remained its leader all throughout the journey.

2. The first Indian player to score a century in IPL is Manish Pandey.

The first Indian batter to score a century in IPL is the current LSG player Manish Pandey. Playing for RCB against DC, the right handed batter scored an absolutely fantastic innings of 114 off just 73 balls. With a strike rate of 156.16, Manish slammed 10 fours and 4 maximums. The match was played on the 21st of May, 2009 in Centurion, South Africa. Manish Pandey was declared the player of the match.

1. The only player to bowl one ball and get a wicket in that in IPL is Adam Gilchrist.

This remains one of the most unique records in the history of Indian Premier League. In the year 2013, playing for KXIP, the Australian legend Adam Gilchrist made a unique record. On the 18th of May, playing against MI in Dharamsala, Adam gave up his wicket keeping gloves and came in to bowl and they were the winning side. Praveen Kumar was given to do wicket keeping. As Dhawal Kulkarni was absent hurt, it was only Harbhajan and Malinga who were the last standing duo. As Adam bowled his very first bowl, Harbhajan went for a biggie and was catch out by Gurkeerat Singh in long on.

These are the 10 unknown facts about IPL which nobody knows.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Subhashish Banerjee
Subhashish Banerjee
An ardent spectator and follower of cricket, I am Subhashish Banerjee a second-year Bhawanipur college student pursuing Bachelors in Science with Economics Honours. I firmly believe that the cricket is a game that unites Nations and their people. Besides cricket, I am also inclined towards art and music.

Read More