Wednesday, October 4, 2023
HomeLatest Sports NewsAEW unveils Owen Hart Tournament Brackets 

AEW unveils Owen Hart Tournament Brackets 

The Owen Hart Cup Tournament returns this year and the tournament brackets were officially announced on this week’s AEW Dynamite. 

The men’s tournament will begin at the upcoming PPV of Forbidden Door, with CM Punk facing Satoshi Kojima in a singles match. The first match for the women’s tournament will take place on this week’s Rampage, where Anna Jay A.S will battle Skye Blue.

Men’s tournament

The match at Forbidden Door against Kojima will mark CM Punk’s first singles match since his return to AEW. Other than Punk and Kojima, the tournament includes Samoa Joe, Roderick Strong, Dustin Rhodes, Powerhouse Hobbs, Juice Robinson and Ricky Starks. 

AEW Owen Hart Tournament Men's Bracket

In the remaining first round matches, Samoa Joe will face Roderick Strong, Rhodes will compete against Hobbs, and Robinson will take on Ricky Starks on June 29 episode of AEW Collision next week. While the dream match of CM Punk and KENTA is not bound to happen at Forbidden Door, Punk can face Samoa Joe in the next round of the tournament to reignite their old rivalry. There’s also a possibility of witnessing CM Punk vs. Ricky Starks in the finals.

Women’s Tournament

Inaugural women’s tournament winner Britt Baker will compete for the cup this year unlike Adam Cole, who will team up with MJF for AEW Blind Eliminator Tournament. The women’s tournament also includes Ruby Soho, Anna Jay A.S, Skye Blue, Willow Nightingale, Athena, Nyla Rose, and Billie Starkz. 

AEW Owen Hart Tournament Women's bracket

Anna Jay vs. Skye Blue is set to kick off the tournament on this week’s Rampage, followed by Rose clashing with Nightingale on Collision. Athen will be facing Billie Starkz in the Kick off pre show of Forbidden Door on June 25. The final match of the first round will feature Britt Baker taking on Ruby Soho in a rematch. 

The Owen Hart Foundation Tournament is named in honor of the Canadian legend Owen Hart. Adam Cole and Britt Baker were the inaugural winners of their respective tournaments last year. 

Thank you for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Yash Ramnani
Yash Ramnani
Yash Ramnani is a passionate and ambitious 19-year-old college student with a deep love for writing and the world of WWE. Hailing from an ordinary background, Yash possesses an extraordinary determination to carve out a path for himself as a professional writer in the near future.

Read More