Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeCricketTop 10 fastest centuries in IPL

Top 10 fastest centuries in IPL

Chris Gayle comes twice at 1st and 10th place in this list

Century scored by any batter becomes a talking point in no time amongst the fans. Doesn’t matter how inconstant the player might be, with a century under the belt, he safeguards his position in the side at least for the next few games. When it comes to IPL, one century can make the entire life of a player. Let’s look at the fastest centuries scored in IPL over the years.

List of Players with the fastest IPL centuries of all time.

10. Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle, the Jamaican stalwart ranks at number 10 in the list of the fastest century of all time In the IPL. He scored a 46 ball ton at Chinnaswamy Stadium against Kings XI Punjab in 2015. This innings of 117 runs had 12 sixes and 7 fours. Just like every time, he scored this century quite effortlessly. 

9. Murali Vijay

Murali Vijay, the stylish opening batter of CSK scored a 46 ball century which makes it the 9th quickest century of IPL. The century came way back in 2010 against Rajasthan Royals at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. The century includes 11 maximums and 8 fours. The innings was a master-class for those who struggle on slow and low pitches. 

8. Mayank Agarwal

Mayank Agarwal positions himself at number 8 with a 45 ball century against Rajasthan Royals in 2020 IPL. This lad from Karnataka smashed 10 biggies and 7 fours to reach the century mark. The 2020 IPL season and knocks like these came as a blessing for many fans as entire India was tottering due to the pandemic. 

7. Sanath Jayasuriya 

Sanath Jayasuriya, the Sri Lankan legend scored a brilliant 45 ball hundred in the inaugural season of IPL. The century is 7th on the list of all-time fastest IPL centuries. The knock came at Wankhede Stadium against arch-rivals CSK. The knock was decorated with 11 sixes and 9 fours. 

6. David Warner

David Warner scored typical Warner innings in 2017 of 126 runs. He reached the hundred mark in mere 43 balls with 8 sixes and 10 fours. With this ton, he ranks himself at number six in the list of quickest centuries in the history of IPL. The knock was against SRH at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad. 

5. AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers clubbed a 43 ball century against Gujarat Lions at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. This quick-fire 100 makes it the 5th quickest IPL hundred. This knock of 129 runs was bolstered by 12 sixes and 10 fours. ABD and RCB Skipper Virat Kohli would surely say this tournament of 2016 was the season of their life, despite not winning the title.  

4. Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist enjoyed his stay at the crease in 2008 at DY Patil Stadium, when he scored a mere 42 ball ton. This ton is the 4th fastest century in IPL history. Mumbai Indians were at the receiving end and that too at their home stadium. Fans, even after 15 long years, still remember it vividly. 

3. David Miller

David Miller took Kings XI Punjab over the line with a phenomenal 38 ball century at IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali against RCB. This is the top 3rd fastest century in the IPL. This innings of 101 runs announced David Miller as a finisher and a kind of X-factor player for the T20 format. When David arrived at the crease, it was the game to lose for RCB and unfortunately, the Miller storm blew RCB away. 

2. Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf Pathan was in his prime around 2010. In the same year, he smashed a 37 ball century against Mumbai Indians at Brabourne Stadium. This innings of exactly 100 runs was adorned with 8 sixes and 9 fours. After all the years, this century still ranks as the 2nd quickest century in IPL history. 

1. Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle does occupy the 10th and 1st position in the list of fastest IPL hundreds. The fastest century of all time came in just 30 balls. It was an innings of one of a kind. The ranked number 1 century came against Pune Warriors India at the home of RCB. The innings had all brutality and Pune bowlers had no answers to it. Chris demolished Pune with 17 sixes and 13 fours. He ended the innings with a mighty score of 175 in mere 66 balls. 

1Chris GaylePWI30175
2Yusuf PathanMI37100
3David MillerRCB38101
4Adam GilchristMI42109
5AB de VilliersGL43129
6David WarnerKKR43126
7Sanath JayasuriyaCSK45114
8Mayank AgarwalRR45106
9Murali VijayRR46127
10Chris GayleKXIP46117

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Saurabh Karmarkar
Saurabh Karmarkar
An ardent Test cricket fan, a loyal Bayern Munich supporter who loves to write about sports and a fitness enthusiast.

Read More