Friday, December 1, 2023
HomeCricketPurple Cap Winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

Purple Cap Winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

Bhuvneshwar Kumar won two consecutive purple caps in 2016 and 2017

Let’s look at Purple Cap Winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021. When T20 comes into mind, everybody thinks of huge sixes, ecstatic batters, and struggling bowlers. However, this has been a thought process of people only because they have been obsessed with batters. In reality, bowlers are doing fantastically well by inventing new deliveries and smart field placing. 

List of Purple Cap Winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

2008- Sohail Tanveer

Sohail Tanveer, the Pakistani fast bowler had a brilliant time in the inaugural season of IPL. The fans affectionately called him ‘Pankhaa’. This left-hand pacer from Pakistan played for Rajasthan Royals and from 11 games, picked 22 scalps. Without his services, RR would have found it difficult to clinch the title. 

2009- RP Singh

RP Singh, the swing bowler of Deccan Chargers was crowned with Purple Cap at the end of the 2009 season. Just like Tanvir for RR, Rudra Pratap Singh too was vital to bring the first IPL title home for Deccan Charger. This pacer took 23 wickets in 16 games. 

2010- Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha, the crafty left-hand spinner became the first spinner to win the Purple Cap. Pragyan used all his arsenals to pick the bucket of wickets. The guile, variation of trajectory, variation in speed, dip, and spin bamboozled 21 wickets in 16 matches. He was part of Deccan Chargers. Pragyan bowled at an average of 16.80.

2011- Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga is one of the IPL greats. Mumbai Indians is the most successful IPL franchise and Lasith’s performances have been invaluable to them. Anyway, in the 2011 season, this Sri Lankan star took 28 wickets in just 16 games. Over the years, he developed many fast bowlers under him. The best example is Jasprit Bumrah

2012- Morne Morkel

Morne Morkel, the tall, veteran and lanky pacer from South Africa was playing for Delhi Daredevils in 2012. Thanks to his 25 wickets in 16 games, he was awarded, Purple Cap.

2013-Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo, the entertainer, and all-rounder of CSK set the bar very high by taking 32 wickets in just 18 games. This feat has been matched by Hashal Patel after 8 long years. Dwayne Bravo is now 38 years old and even then he has been picked by CSK for 2022 IPL. That’s speaking enough about his abilities and the faith that CSK management has in him. 

2014- Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma had been backed continuously by CSK and MSD and he did pay off by picking 23 wickets in 16 games. He was probably the first Indian bowler to not only try but to master the art of backhand delivery. These backhand deliveries tricked many batters. This Purple Cap winning season did help him to get a spot in ICC World Cup 2015. 

2015- Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo once again features in this list of Purple Cap winners as he took 26 wickets. This champion from the West Indies contributed with the bat, ball, and also with a bit of dancing moves.

2016-Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has always been best at adapting to the situation. In Tests, he bowled at a slower pace, while in IPL, he clicked 140-145 kmph also. In the same season, during the early stages, he was being humiliated by young Sarfaraz Khan. But he bounced back and picked 23 wickets in 17 games. Bhuvi helped SRH to win their first IPL title.

2017-Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, on consecutive occasions, won the Purple Cap. During 2016 and 2017, he was at his peak. In the 2017 season, Bhuvneshwar took 26 wickets in 14 games. This was better than the 2016 season. 

2018- Andrew Tye

Andrew Tye, the Australian T20 specialist came out of nowhere and won the Purple Cap in the 2018 season playing for Kings XI Punjab. Andrew Tye took a total of 24 wickets in 14 games. Very rarely any batter was able to pick his slow balls. 

2019- Imran Tahir

Imran Tahir, the South African leg spinner stormed the IPL by picking 26 scalps in 17 games. He kept taking wickets after wickets and eventually helped the comeback-making side CSK win the title. It was a fairytale season for CSK. When needed, he showed composure while batting and gave much-needed encouragement to the batter at the other end which ultimately helped CSK to win the games from crunch situations. 

2020-Kagiso Rabada

Kagiso Rabada, another South African speedster took the center stage in the 2020 season for Delhi Capitals. He took 30 wickets in 17 games and won the Purple Cap of season 2020. Those efforts of his were important as Delhi finished as runners-up.

2021- Harshal Patel

Harshal Patel has been going through the best time of his career and it all started in the 2021 season. Harshal was just superb in 2021. It was incredible to see him taking a bunch of wickets from every game. Ravindra Jadeja at one stage of the season plundered 37 runs of Harshal’s over. But Harshal had faith in his abilities and he continued his flow of wickets and ended the season with 32 wickets in 15 games. He matched the record of Dwayne Bravo of 2013.

Purple Cap Winners of IPL from 2008 to 2021

2008Sohail TanveerRR1122
2009RP SinghDC1623
2010Pragyan OjhaDC1621
2011Lasith MalingaMI1628
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Capitals1625
2013Dwayne BravoCSK1832
2014Mohit SharmaCSK1623
2015Dwayne BravoCSK1626
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH1723
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH1426
2018Andrew TyePBKS1424
2019Imran TahirCSK1726
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals1730
2021Harshal PatelRCB1532

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Saurabh Karmarkar
Saurabh Karmarkar
An ardent Test cricket fan, a loyal Bayern Munich supporter who loves to write about sports and a fitness enthusiast.

Read More