HomeCricketSouth Africa T20 League Owners List

South Africa T20 League Owners List

IPL Franchise owners bought all six teams in South Africa's New T20 League.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) confirmed on 20th July that IPL Franchise owners have placed successful bids for all six teams in South Africa’s New T20 League. The Inaugural edition of the league will be played in January 2024.

IPL Franchise owners have bought all the six teams in South Africa’s New T20 League. Chennai Super Kings made the highest bid and bought the Johannesburg franchise. Mumbai Indians owned by Reliance Industries bought the Cape Town Franchise. Whereas the Sun TV group who owns Sunrisers Hyderabad has bought Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth) franchise.

Rajasthan Royals brought the Paarl franchise. RPSG (Sanjeev Goenka Group) bought the IPL Lucknow franchise for RS. 7090 Crores have bought the Durban team. Parth Jindal who is co-owner of Delhi Capitals in IPL has bought the Pretoria team.

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) is expected to make the official announcement once the paperwork is done. Former Proteas captain Graeme Smith has been appointed as the Head of this T20 League.

Read more: 2.5 month window reserved for IPL in ICC’s next FTP cycle: Report

“I’m extremely honored to be entrusted with leading this exciting new venture,” Smith said. “Smith is deeply committed to South African cricket and happy to serve the game as best he can. I’m excited by the opportunity to deliver the new league, which I believe will be an extremely competitive product, one that can bring the much-needed investment into the game and provide new opportunities for players around the world and more importantly to our SA homegrown talent.”

“The response from stakeholders has been very positive thus far and we’ve made great progress in the initial stages. We’re determined to deliver a valuable, sustainable, and appealing tournament for South African cricket.”

Third franchise-based T20 League

This is Cricket South Africa’s third attempt to start a Franchise-based T20 League. Global T20 League in 2017 failed. Even Mzansi Super league’s broadcasting rights weren’t sold so they have to scrap it. Now they have planned to host this new T20 League in January. Cricket South Africa canceled the ODI series against Australia in January which will decrease their chances of qualification for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2024. South Africa is currently placed in 11th position in ICC ODI Super League.

Know about: Former Pakistan cricketer Wasim Akram suggests One Day Cricket be scrapped off, keep Tests at the top

IPL Global Footprint

IPL is truly growing globally. With all 6 teams bought by IPL Franchise Owners, South Africa T20 League can be called as Mini IPL.

South Africa T20 League Owners List:-

Chennai Super Kings:- Johannesburg Franchise

Reliance Industries:- Cape Town Franchise

Sun TV:- Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth) Franchise

RP Sanjeev Goenka Group:- Durban Franchise

JSW Sports:- Pretoria Franchise

Rajasthan Royals:- Paarl Franchise

There is yet to be decided about the player selection process. Whether it would be a draft system or any other. It is expected that there will be 4 Overseas players in the Playing XI same as IPL. The decision on Indian players participating in other T20 Leagues will be taken in BCCI’s next AGM.

Read more: Team India’s flight from Manchester to Trinidad costs BCCI INR 3.5 crores

UAE T20 League

UAE will also have its new T20 League in the same period of January 2024. So UAE T20 League will clash with South Africa’s T20 League. West Indies players have shown their interest in playing UAE T20 League. Owners of Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, and Delhi Capitals have brought the teams in UAE T20 League. It will be interesting to watch both leagues.

Bhushan Kothmire
Bhushan Kothmirehttp://thesportslite.com
I watch sports. I write sports. I live sports. Sports Journalist specializing in Cricket.

Read More