Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeCricketPlayer Of The Tournament In IPL From 2008 To 2021

Player Of The Tournament In IPL From 2008 To 2021

Let’s look at Player of Tournament in IPL from 2008 to 2021 and their deeds in their respective winning seasons. Till 2012, IPL used to give an award to the best player of the tournament under the name ‘Man of the Tournament. Since 2013, the name of the award given to the best player of the tournament is ‘Most Valuable Player.

List of winners of Player of the Tournament in each season of IPL

2008:- Shane Watson

Shane Watson played a crucial role for Rajasthan Royals in 2008, where they won their lone IPL title to date. This Aussie all-rounder scored 472 runs with the bat and also took 17 wickets. He achieved these numbers in mere 15 matches. Shane Watson was the first winner of the Player of the Tournament award in the history of IPL in 2008. 

2009:- Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist was the captain of Deccan Chargers, who won this title in 2009. This wicket-keeper batter from Down Under smashed 495 runs in 16 games and obviously without this effort Deccan Chargers would not have been on the winning list. He finished as 2nd highest run-getter in the tournament including the 3 fifties. 

2010:- Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar won the orange cap for the season of 2010. He accumulated 618 runs in just 15 games, which included 5 top-class half-centuries. Though he couldn’t lead his side to the title, this performance of him inspired the next lot of Mumbai Indians to win the IPL in upcoming years. 

2011:- Chris Gayle 

Chris Gayle, the brutal hitter from West Indies, won the Player of the Series award in 2011. The Universe Boss clubbed 608 runs in just 12 games. 2 centuries and 3 fifties aided these 608 runs. People love his frolics off the field just like the long and clean hits over the boundary fence. 

2012:- Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine became the first bowler to win the Player of the Season award in 2012. His ungenerous way of not letting batters score run easily helped KKR immensely to get their hand to their first IPL title. This was his debut IPL season, but he played like a veteran and took 24 scalps in 15 games at an unbelievable economy of 5.47. He was the second-highest wicket-taker of the tournament. 

2013:- Shane Watson

Shane Watson displayed another all-around performance, and it helped him clinch his 2nd Player of the Tournament Award in 2013. In 16 games, he cashed in 543 runs with 1 century and 2 half-centuries. This all-rounder from Australia aided the bowlers by picking 13 wickets.

2014:- Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell, the dynamic Australian all-rounder, won the Player of the Tournament Award in 2014. Playing for Kings XI Punjab, this unorthodox batter added 552 runs in Punjab’s account. With 4 fifties in 16 matches, he finished the season as the 3rd highest run-scorer of the tournament. With these amazing efforts, he led Punjab to their first IPL final. 

2015:- Andre Russell 

Andre Russell won the Player of the Tournament Award in 2015. With those big muscles and unbelievable power that he has, he bludgeoned his way to score 326 runs in 13 games. He even picked 14 wickets. His presence is enough to pressurize even the best of the bowlers. 

2016:- Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli had an unparalleled run of International cricket in 2016. He was literally scoring a century in almost every innings. He carried this form to the IPL as well. The man had no centuries in T20s till 2016 and suddenly he smashed 4 of them in the 2016 IPL season. Well, the story doesn’t end here. 7 half-centuries accompanied his 4 tons, and he scored an incredible amount of runs, i.e. 972 runs in a single IPL season. Hard to believe, isn’t it? The trophy of Player of the Tournament deserved to have Kohli’s name inscribed on it. 

2017:- Ben Stokes

Ben Stokes won the Player of the Tournament award in 2017 IPL. This English star scored 316 runs in 12 matches and also took 12 wickets with his smart bowling. He also became the first English player to get this prestigious award. He played that season for Rajasthan Royals and continued to play for them until 2021. 

2018:- Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine became the 2nd player to win Player of the Tournament twice. He won in 2012 and now again in 2018. It was a normal affair for him to pick a bag full of wickets, to be precisely 17 in 16 games, but more intriguing, he scored 357 runs as well. This was unexpected. He also scored 2 half-centuries.

2019:- Andre Russell

Andre russell won Player of the tournament in 2019 IPL

Andre Russell also entered a list of players winning Player of the Tournament two times. His first one came in 2015 and 2nd one in 2019. He filled another 510 runs in his IPL account and grabbed 11 wickets in 14 games. ‘Dre Russ’, the name is enough to put fear in the bowler’s mind.

2020:- Jofra Archer

Jofra Archer has been a sensational figure in cricket since he made his debut for England. His lighting speed, skiddy nature, and ability to hurry the batters make him one of the dangerous bowlers across the formats. In the 2020 IPL, he grabbed 20 wickets in just 14 games and conceded runs at an excellent economy of 6.55. This highest wicket-taker for Rajasthan smashed some lusty blows with the bat in hand, too.

Also Read: Who Is Cheteshwar Pujara Wife? Know all about Puja Pabari

2021:- Harshal Patel

Harshal Patel had his breakthrough season in 2021. He was unbelievable with a ball in hand. He had slower ones, cutters, searing Yorkers, and many more types of deliveries in his arsenal. Taking wickets was like a walk in the park for him and in 15 games he took a whopping 32 wickets. Along with winning Player of Tournament, he also won the Purple Cap for season 2021. 

Player of the Tournament (Consolidated Table Version)

2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers
2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals

For more such latest sports updates keep visiting

Saurabh Karmarkar
Saurabh Karmarkar
An ardent Test cricket fan, a loyal Bayern Munich supporter who loves to write about sports and a fitness enthusiast.

Read More