Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeCricketIPL Trivia : Top 10 bowlers with Most Wickets in Indian Premier...

IPL Trivia : Top 10 bowlers with Most Wickets in Indian Premier League

The 15th edition of TATA IPL is just around the corner. Over the years, the league has witnessed tremendous sporting action, where teams clash and fight for glory in the T20 extravaganza. T20 cricket might be a power-hitter’s game, but the legends of the sport never deny that it’s the bowlers who win the championships. Amidst all the IPL craze in the air, let’s take a look at the top 10 cricketers with the Most Wickets in the Indian Premier League.

Here is the List of bowlers with Most Wickets in Indian Premier League

10. Jasprit Bumrah – 130 wickets

India’s leading pacer Jasprit Bumrah is one of the biggest finds of the IPL. Little did people know back in 2013 that a budding MI seamer with a never-before-seen quick arm bowling action will rule the roost in near future. The Bumrah-Malinga jodi were a dream bowling pair for MI paltan and an unforgettable nightmare for the opposition. No doubt, Bumrah’s incredible spells have gifted multiple victories to his team. With 130 scalps in 106 matches, the speedster’s consistent performance is a huge reason behind why MI is the most successful franchise of the marquee league.

9. Yuzvendra Chahal – 139 wickets

RCB’s spin king Yuzvendra Chahal is another Indian cricketer emerging out of IPL. The Chinnaswamy Stadium of Bengaluru, a haven for batters, saw a rise of promising leggie who never made the lives of big-hitters easy despite the small dimensions of the group. Yuzi Chahal was just another addition to the extraordinary list for a franchise that features spin icons like Kumble, Muralidharan, and Vettori. Kohli’s frontline spinner, Chahal picked up 139 wickets in 114 matches. Chahal’s association with RCB sadly came to an end this year, as the leggie will now don the RR jersey in IPL 15.

8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 142 wickets

The only bowler to have been the Purple Cap winner in consecutive seasons, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is an indispensable part of SRH’s deadly bowling attack. His potential to swing the ball upfront and his deceptive slower ones and Yorkers in the death, make Kumar a champion T20 bowler. The seamer was the leading wicket-taker of IPL 2016 and was the chief architect of SRH’s maiden title-winning campaign. In 132 matches, Bhuvi has picked up 142 dismissals in 10 seasons. His form may have dipped of late, yet him being in the list of Top 10 Bowlers with most wickets in the Indian Premier League, show that an epic comeback is always on the cards.

7. Sunil Narine – 143 wickets

The Caribbean mystery spinner reached the pinnacle of his career after the struggling KKR franchise included him in 2012. Since then, Narine has been the biggest X-factor for KKR. In his debut season, he changed the fortunes of the side as he left opposition batters foxed each time with his enigma of turn. KKR lifted its first IPL Trophy in 2012 and Narine was adjudged the Player of The Tournament. Despite having issues with his controversial bowling action, the spin wizard grew strength to strength every season. With 143 wickets in 134 matches, Narine will look to go “Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo” once again in 2022.

Also Read: Top 5 bowlers with Most Maiden Overs bowled in IPL – The SportsLite

6. Ravichandran Ashwin – 145 wickets

One of India’s all greatest spinners, the phoenix of Ashwin too spread its huge wings in the early seasons of IPL. The Tamil Nadu prodigy soon became Dhoni’s go-to bowler in crunch situations and was a huge reason behind CSK’s success in 2010-15. After CSK was banned for 2 seasons, Ashwin shifted his base to RPS.In 2018, Ashwin took charge of KXIP as a skipper but was later traded to DC in 2020. This time around, the seasoned campaigner will pair up with Chahal to play for RR. With 145 scalps in 167 clashes, Ashwin’s rich experience makes him a prime asset for his side.

5. Harbhajan Singh – 150 wickets

The Turbanator of Indian Cricket was an established sportster when the IPL began in 2008. Bhajji excelled in the shortest format of the game as his labyrinth of turn rarely missed to trick the batters. In his entire IPL career, he won 4 IPL Trophies with MI and once with CSK. Even in the twilight of his career, his consistency with the ball proved that age is no bar for champions. In 163 matches, Bhajji claimed 150 wickets before he quit all formats of the game last year.

4. Piyush Chawla – 157 wickets

Piyush Chawla is no doubt, one of the most underrated cricketers of his time. Despite a brief stint in international cricket, IPL gave Chawla an outstanding platform to showcase his potential. The IPL veteran played for several franchises(KXIP, KKR, CSK, and MI) to 157 scalps in 165 matches. In 2014, Chawla was an unsung hero of KKR’s second IPL winning campaign. His unwavering performances with the ball every season show why he is amongst the top 10 Bowlers with the most wickets In the Indian Premier League.

Also Read: Top five All-time Best Debut performances in IPL History – The SportsLite

3. Amit Mishra – 166 wickets

Just like Chawla, Amit Mishra too barely got his due in international cricket. A T20 specialist of immense caliber, Mishraji’s googly rarely missed sending the batters back in the hut. The crafty wizard has a unique record to his name of having the most number of hat-tricks(3) by any bowler in IPL. Mishraji has taken 166 wickets in 154 fixtures. His unswerving performances over the years definitely earn him a place in IPL’s Hall Of Fame.

2. DJ Bravo – 167 wickets

  A hard-hitting batter down the order + death-over specialist + a crazy entertainer, that’s exactly what sums to be the profile of this Windies genius. Starting off as a batting-allrounder, Bravo rediscovered himself after he joined CSK in 2011. He emerged to be one of the most lethal death over pacers and delivered his slower ones to perfection. Bravo is the only other bowler apart from Bhuvneshwar Kumar to have won Purple Cap twice(2013 and 2015). Even at the age of 38, Bravo remains a part of the CSK core under Dhoni. With 167 wickets in 151 matches, he will surely eye to surpass Malinga to become the leading wicket-taker in the history of IPL. The Whistle Podu army will hope to see Bravo go all guns blazing and let his calypso moves hog the limelight once again.

1.Lasith Malinga – 170 wickets

Slinga Malinga is the greatest T20 bowler of all time. Period!. His toe-crushing yorkers have agonized even the best batters of his times. His stats in IPL does not tell a different tale either. A premier pacer for MI for 10 seasons, the Sri Lankan veteran never disappointed even in the most difficult situations. 170 dismissals in just 122 matches with an economy of 7.14 – Malinga has left huge boots to fill in after his farewell from cricket. IPL misses Malinga dearly, as he continues to shine with his unbelievable numbers in record books.

The Top 10 elite List

RankPlayers MatchesWicketsEconomyAverageStrike RateBest Bowling Figures
1Lasith Malinga1221707.1419.7916.65-13
2DJ Bravo1511678.3624.3117.44-22
3Amit Mishra1541667.3523.9519.55-17
4Piyush Chawla1651577.8827.3920.84-17
5Harbhajan Singh1631507.0726.8622.75-18
6R Ashwin1671456.9127.8024.14-34
7Sunil Narine1341436.7424.5321.85-19
8Bhuvneshwar Kumar1321427.3025.2620.75-19
9Yuzvendra Chahal1141397.5922.2817.64-25
10Jasprit Bumrah1061307.4223.0418.64-14

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Aditya Datta
Aditya Datta
Hi there! this is Aditya Datta, a huge cricket buff, and a passionate content writer.

Read More